Subject: How do I go about restoring my minis? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Guy McCann
United States
Lexington
South Carolina
flag msg tools
So, after looking at all these wonderful painted minis, I decided that I would jump in and do mine. I have some experience (though about 20+ years out of practice) and figured I'd give it a whirl. Short story shorter, I suck apparently.

What would be the best way to "clean" the minis I've attempted to paint? Only did the Polania mechs, so it's not a lot. Should I just get some white primer and repaint or would soapy water with a toothbrush work? (Acrylic paints)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Fox
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If soap and water does not, look at a miniature dite for suggestions. When iwas in warmachine, there was something thst you couod find at walmart to take paint off that worked with most plastics.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
We'll also be selling some of our extra miniatures ala carte in early September if you just want to replace all of them.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Brighton
United States
Sammamish
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When I painted plastics (c. 35 years ago) I used turpentine to clean acrylic paints (e.g. Airfix, Humbrol). However, plastics vary so I would use any chemical product with extreme caution and test a very small amount under the base and make sure it doesn't react over a period of time.

If you wanted to re-paint I might suggest...
i) coming back 'up to speed' on your painting skills. Of course this could be time consuming. After 30 years of not having painted anything smaller than a wall I bet I'd be pretty bad as well, or
ii) give the figures a black wash. I've used this technique on figures; it's quick, easy and looks quite effective.

Anyway, good luck; I hope it works out.