Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Field of Glory: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lots of flanking questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alastair Cornish
United Kingdom
Croydon
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, I just mailed Martin about this, I've seen these asked before but seen no solid official answer (please correct me if I'm wrong!)


Q1: I attack with a flank attack but it is a tie, do I:
a) Discard all my cards in both the flanking column and my cards in the opposing column
b) Discard only those card in the column from which the attack was lead
c) something else, if so what?

Q2: I attack with a flank attack. I lead with the flanking, unopposed unit, that unit currently controls the terrain card in front of them. My opposed, non-leading, column also control their terrain card. I lose the flank attack, do I:
a) Return to neutral the terrain card in front of the flanking, leading but unopposed card.
b) Return to neutral the terrain card in front of the opposing but non-leading column
c) Return both terrain cards to neutral (ouch!)
d) Something else, if so what?

Q3: As Q2 but leading with the opposed column, I lose do I:
a) Return to neutral the terrain card in front of the leading, opposed card.
b) Return to neutral the terrain card in front of the flanking but non-leading column
c) Return both terrain cards to neutral (ouch!)
d) Something else, if so what?

Q4: I attack with a flank attack; both the opposed column and the unopposed (flanking) column have two units stacked up in them. I lead with the flanking column, I win afterwards do I:
a) reduce only the flanking, leading, column to 1 card
b) reduce the opposed but non-leading column to 1 card
c) reduce both columns (flanking and opposed) to 1 card
d) something else, if so what?

Q5: As Q4 but leasing with the opposed column, do I:
a) reduce the opposed, leading column to 1 card
b) reduce the the flanking, but non-leading, column to 1 card
c) reduce both columns (flanking and opposed) to 1 card
d) something else, if so what?

Q6: If I'm attacking with an Elephant against an enemy Elephant and Light Infantry do I take the penalty for attacking Light Infantry:
a) yes, simply for the presence of the Light Inf in the opposing column
b) only if they lead the defence with the Light Infantry

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Wallace
United Kingdom
Manchester
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher

Hi Alastair,

No problem.

Q1 answer b, discard cards from the column that led the attack.

Q2. answer a, return to neutral the terrain card in front of the column that attacked.

Q3. answer a, as above.

Q4. answer a, only reduce the column that actually attacked.

Q5. answer a, only reduce the column that led the attack.

Q6. working from memory here as not at home and do not have a copy of the game to hand. Defender would choose which unit to lead the defence. Only that unit determines modifiers, so you would have to lead with the light inf to gain modifiers. Having said that it would be a rash person who attacked an elephant with light inf as they are still getting +1 for the supporting unit.

Hope that helps.

Best

Martin
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alastair Cornish
United Kingdom
Croydon
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you so much for answering these. I love F.o.G to bits but these were bugging me (and others I know), now I love it even more!

Cheers for taking the time to respond, it's greatly appreciated!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCormick
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just jumping in to say that I recently bought this as well and am highly impressed. Very elegant design which does a great job of capturing the difficulty heavy units had in engaging light units.

Plus it's a ton of fun.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.