18 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Variants

Subject: Encounter Card Flavor Text rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam
United States
flag msg tools
I'd say my favorite aspect of the game is the beautifully imagined encounter deck. Despite this, I can't help but wish the mechanics behind it were a bit closer to Above and Below encounters. I just find it a bit awkward and immersion breaking that I have to flash my card around the table for others to share in the experience. Also, when making an 'encounter' decision, I would much prefer not knowing the exact outcome of my choice.

I'm hoping to get a bit of feedback on an idea, as to whether or not this would be realistic/possible to create some sort of file and print&play, as I have no experience with either..

I would love to see an encounter deck with only the brilliant artwork and its associated reference number, no text. After drawing an encounter card, the player reads aloud the reference number.

Another player at the table then opens an encounter book (ala Above and Below), and turns to a page with the associated reference number and a one-line opener for each card such as 'You spot a man across the field with a smoking mech towering over him'. He/she then reads aloud the three options without reading the associated outcomes.

After the encountering player chooses an option, the player with the encounter book reads the outcome. If the encountering player is unable to meet the criteria for the outcome (not enough money/resources, etc.) then the player can select another option.

For me at least, this type of encounter scenario would add to the game in two ways:

1. Encounters are now shared experiences with at least one other player at the table.

2. Encounters would come with a sense of unknown consequences, at least the first few times cycling through the deck.