Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: The order of Production phase "draw" bonuses + Damaged Alien Factory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Delano
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can pick the order that powers resolve, however each power must fully resolve before you activate another. So your instincts are correct, in cases 1 and 2 you could activate Rebel Cantina or Gem World to get the card and spend it for DAF. In case 3 there's no order of activation that would give you a card to spend on DAF.

To give you another situation, say you had Research Labs, DAF and another Alien World. You could first produce on the other Alien World, then use Research Labs power to draw a card, then produce on DAF. That would leave you with no cards in hand but 2 Alien goods.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Go read the general rules on invoking powers, RFTG rules page 4, and the GS rules, page 11, which discusses the timing of this specific power.

wilky61 wrote:
If you have zero cards in hand with Rebel Cantina + Damaged Alien Factory on the tableau, are you allowed to produce a good on the DAF or not? (In other words, do you draw the card from the RC first, to be able to discard it to the DAF's produce second?)

If you have no cards in hand and Gem World + Damaged Alien Factory on the tableau, are you allowed to produce on the DAF? (Do you draw the card from the GW first?)

Yes, if you choose to invoke the RC power or Gem World power first.

Quote:
If you have no cards in hand and Rebel Sympathizers + Damaged Alien Factory on the tableau [and either called Produce or have a Produce on Windfall power], are you allowed to [use your Produce bonus or Produce on Windfall power first to produce on RS and then use the card gained to] produce on the DAF?

Yes.

Quote:
If you have no cards in hand and Research Labs + Damaged Alien Factory on the tableau, are you allowed to produce on the DAF? (Do you draw the card from the RL first?)

Of course not. You cannot use future effects to fuel another power in a circular fashion. Powers are invoked *sequentially*. If you invoke the RL power first, then you don't draw anything because you haven't produced any Alien goods. If you invoke DAF first, you have no card to discard to produce an Alien good.

In addition to these cases, the Diversified Economy example given in the GS rules illustrates the "a power cannot interrupt another power" timing rule.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.