Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two queries: 1. marriage death 2. minor key exchanges rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Lipka
United States
Charleston
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Hi folks, thanks for helping us.

1.) Let's say William of Orange gets betrothed while at a 1-eligibility rating, then is captured by Spain during the ensuing action phase. Is it correct to presume that he still gets a marriage roll, prior to his pending ransom? If so, and a (poor) 2DR withdraws him thanks to "Last Minute Cancellation" result, what becomes of poor Orangey Bill? On the one hand, he could re-enter the marriage pool as if he had not scored VP per the card description... on the other hand, this is not a strict "marriage" so much as it is merely a marriage DR result based upon the grooms's absence. Could an actual marriage have occurred, leading to this kind of beneficial return to the marriage pool?

Some would claim that he didn't have a bona fide wedding; thus he does not return as a "2-eligibility" bachelor and no marriage DR takes place. However, my sense is that his marriage still occurs and the result stands in spite of his military capture. This seems counter-intuitive: after all, he was trapped somewhere in a Spanish prison... was a marriage DR even allowed? Where in the rules is this addressed? And what happens to the disappointed bride? yuk

2.) Next hypothetical event: the Turks conquer Rome while the Papacy is a minor power allied with Spain. Next, Papal Bull is played to resolve the diplomatic status of the Papacy. The original controlling power (Spain) cedes control to another (such as France, who is not at war with the Ottomans). Aside from the rest of the Papal Bull specifics, what becomes of the Turkish-held key? Does France get to claim control of the key, or do the Turks keep it by right of force?

Thanks for all of your help and expertise!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nes
Norway
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To answer your second question: Ottomans would keep it.
Only powers eligible to activate the minor power as an ally would give away their control this way.
So, for the Papacy, only the Hapsburg, France or HRE would lose control during such an activation procedure(per the diplomatic influence chart and 24.2).

If one of these have control and have previously DoWed the papacy, their marker would be removed and would no longer be eligible - and would keep control.
Note that this last scenario is for DoW of the minor itself, not for DOW on their major power ally.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
1) Marriages already agreed on are still resolved if the leader is captured (page 12 top of right coloumn). So he would get the roll, but a "last minute cancellation" is not a marriage - and so William will remain at rating 1 and go through aging.

A turn is about 5 years, so it is just that you don't get to know the result of the marriage before end of turn, but they might have had some years together before his capture. Maybe even visitation rights could be possible? That would also explain the "Husband murdered" .
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Lipka
United States
Charleston
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Thank you both for your responses! It seems like we have proceeded correctly.

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.