Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Star Trek: Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Borg Cube with Class K tokens... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin L. Kitchens
United States
Gainesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
I'm pretty sure the answer is no, but when Class-K tokens get added to a Borg card, those cannot be defeated with diplomacy correct (that's only for an away team, not combat)...

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance Kickstarter - February 2017
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes they can. You must beam aboard the Cube with an Away Team as normal. Using Diplomacy in this situation represents disconnecting the drones from the Hive Mind without fighting them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel S.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I encountered a Borg cube with two class K tokens in my first solo conquest yesterday, so I think, this question may fit in this thread.

My question is: Do I have to defeat the cube and then beam aboard to solve the away mission in one turn? Or can I destroy the cube first in one turn, and then in a second turn (or later) beam aboard and solve the away mission?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wouter Boon
Netherlands
Berkel en Rodenrijs
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I think your question is covered in the full rulebook, page 10, under 'Fighting Multiple Enemies' (text copy-pasted):

Quote:
It is possible to encounter a combination of Enemy
Tokens in space as well as one or more Planet
Tokens at the same time. This might occur, for
example, when exploring a Class-H Planet or when
engaging the assimilated defenders of a Borg
Cube. In this case, you must fight all space battles
fi rst, and then you must send an Away Team down
to engage all of the Planet Tokens at the same time
(see “Away Missions” below).


With emphasis on must. Therefore you cannot retreat during combat and skip the Away Team phase in a battle; you have to resolve it first.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel S.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. Then I'll have to be better prepared next time before engaging the Borg.^^
I managed to win the space battle, but then my Away Team didn't have enough Firepower/Diplomacy to be succesful. But it was my first Solo Conquest, next time will be better. =)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wouter Boon
Netherlands
Berkel en Rodenrijs
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I did that wrong too, the first time...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cwb1977 wrote:
I think your question is covered in the full rulebook, page 10, under 'Fighting Multiple Enemies' (text copy-pasted):

Quote:
It is possible to encounter a combination of Enemy
Tokens in space as well as one or more Planet
Tokens at the same time. This might occur, for
example, when exploring a Class-H Planet or when
engaging the assimilated defenders of a Borg
Cube. In this case, you must fight all space battles
fi rst, and then you must send an Away Team down
to engage all of the Planet Tokens at the same time
(see “Away Missions” below).


With emphasis on must. Therefore you cannot retreat during combat and skip the Away Team phase in a battle; you have to resolve it first.



though you can send nobody to the away team phase and just take the reputation loss.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance Kickstarter - February 2017
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mfl134 wrote:
though you can send nobody to the away team phase and just take the reputation loss.


Is a team of dead redshirts the equivalent of "nobody"??? cry

meeple
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin L. Kitchens
United States
Gainesville
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Andrew Parks wrote:
mfl134 wrote:
though you can send nobody to the away team phase and just take the reputation loss.


Is a team of dead redshirts the equivalent of "nobody"??? cry

meeple


Or guys named Guy.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andrew Parks wrote:
mfl134 wrote:
though you can send nobody to the away team phase and just take the reputation loss.


Is a team of dead redshirts the equivalent of "nobody"??? cry

meeple


yes. yes it is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hold up...


so my 1st borg fight last night too..

2 borgs and 1 planet a ferengi...

I have to attack all 3..
but borg 2 has resistance .. i can kill borg 1 with long range. ..
next ..

(*what happens if i don't kill with long range but normal range only)

the other 2 then attack.,..
ferengi don't add there damage as no away team .. only -2 rep...
the other borg does its full damage to me..

sound right next turn i can try and take on the remaining 2 tokens again..?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance Kickstarter - February 2017
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, Mark.

That sounds correct to me.

To answer your other question, if you don't defeat the Borg with long range, it will attack you with the other Borg. You can then destroy it during the regular Attack Phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.