$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
So from now until the end of Aug you can watch LIVE one of the cameras on a submersible NOAA is using to explore the Marianas Trench Marine National Monument and they are finding lots of amazing things weekly.

Here is a short update on just a sampling of what they have seen so far.

Some of the things are really beautiful, some are just weirdly interesting. You should watch the video, and then some of the other recent videos released by NOAA.

(Obligatory RSP) Thanks Bush!!*

*Just a reminder GW Bush. after a meeting with Jean-Michel Cousteau and viewing his documentary was convinced that saving the biodiversity of this unique part of the Oceans was worth making a significant effort for and over the next 3 years used his Presidential Powers to do so.

Quote:

“With the designation of the world’s largest marine reserve in the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands in 2006, and now these three other sites, George W. Bush has done more to protect unique areas of the world’s oceans than any other person in history,” said Joshua Reichert, managing director of the Pew Environmental Group.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/06/us/06oceans.html?hp&_r=0

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2009/01/090106-AP-ma...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Hall
msg tools
Wait, was this an executive order??? LOL

Great find. Thanks Meerkat! Can't believe no one else has commented. This is totally cool!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyler Gobe
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Not the avatar you're looking for
mbmbmbmbmb
Very cool stuff, thanks!