$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Pandemic: State of Emergency» Forums » Rules

Subject: Containment Specialist and Superbug cubes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon Read
msg tools
Greetings All,

Played a game last night in which I was the Containment Specialist.

The special ability is : When you enter a city with 2 or more disease cubes of the same colour remove one of them.

Situation 1 : Two blue cubes and two red cubes - say in Tokyo - may I remove one each of the Blue and Red cubes? -I think so.

Situation 2 : Two blue cubes and two purple " Superbug" cubes in one city.
May I remove one each of Blue and Purple cubes?
I cannot think why not as this is not a "treat disease" type of action, it's a containment action, so it can apply to the purple "superbug" cubes as well.

Any thought/comments on my interpretation of the card?

Ta in advance,

Fred the Obscure,
Durban,
South Africa.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Annemarie Post
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct in both situations.
'Remove' is indeed not the same as 'Treat disease' and can therefore also apply to Superbug cubes.

EDIT to add: the rulebook for 'On the Brink' specifically states that the containment specialist removes 1 cube form each of the diseases if several diseases with 2 or more cubes are present
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Read
msg tools
Thanks Annemarie,

I didn't think to back into my On The Brinks rules for clarity.

Fred the Obscure,
Durban,
South Africa.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.