GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,520 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Ancient Terrible Things» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
When an Encounter provides multiple types of Tokens (e.g., Grave Robbers, The Colonel, etc.), how do you determine what type of Encounter it is for purposes of cards such as Hook 'n Rope (you don't get a terrible thing token when failing Pitfall Encounters) or for purposes of achievements? Is it all of those types? Just the first type?

Also, am I misreading The Baroness and The Occultist somehow? (Run of 4 dice starting at 3 or higher...how could it be higher? Occultist is a run of 3 dice starting at 4 or higher.) Maybe this was just a misprint.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schnel wrote:
When an Encounter provides multiple types of Tokens (e.g., Grave Robbers, The Colonel, etc.), how do you determine what type of Encounter it is for purposes of cards such as Hook 'n Rope (you don't get a terrible thing token when failing Pitfall Encounters) or for purposes of achievements? Is it all of those types? Just the first type?

It's all of those types if more than one type is listed.
schnel wrote:
Also, am I misreading The Baroness and The Occultist somehow? (Run of 4 dice starting at 3 or higher...how could it be higher? Occultist is a run of 3 dice starting at 4 or higher.) Maybe this was just a misprint.

You are reading it correct.
If a run is mentioned they just always used this convention/wording even if the run can't be higher.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schnel wrote:
Also, am I misreading The Baroness and The Occultist somehow? (Run of 4 dice starting at 3 or higher...how could it be higher? Occultist is a run of 3 dice starting at 4 or higher.) Maybe this was just a misprint.


There are cards that can reduce the requirements of Encounters, so perhaps the wording takes this into account - if you reduce the requirements of a 3-or-higher run so that it can start at 2, the "or higher" still counts.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Roger the Alien wrote:
schnel wrote:
When an Encounter provides multiple types of Tokens (e.g., Grave Robbers, The Colonel, etc.), how do you determine what type of Encounter it is for purposes of cards such as Hook 'n Rope (you don't get a terrible thing token when failing Pitfall Encounters) or for purposes of achievements? Is it all of those types? Just the first type?

It's all of those types if more than one type is listed.
schnel wrote:
Also, am I misreading The Baroness and The Occultist somehow? (Run of 4 dice starting at 3 or higher...how could it be higher? Occultist is a run of 3 dice starting at 4 or higher.) Maybe this was just a misprint.

You are reading it correct.
If a run is mentioned they just always used this convention/wording even if the run can't be higher.

Thanks much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.