6 Posts

Puzzle Strike Shadows» Forums » General

Subject: Just got this: Looking for tips to help us get started. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vapix
msg tools
mbmbmb
I just bought Shadows as my first Puzzle Strike game because 3rd Edition wasn't available.

My two test games have gone ok, but I've decided choosing characters at random might be a bit too optimistic

Does anyone have suggestions on which characters are easiest to play? (relative power is still irrelevant).

Ditto for the simpler Puzzle Chips. Note that I'm not asking for chips that match specific characters, nor sets of ten that work well together (not yet anyway For now, while I'm still learning the basics, simple(r) is better than balanced or "most effective combos".
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael
United States
Boulder
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Congratulations on getting puzzle strike! I think it's a fantastic and highly under-appreciated game.

The fantasy strike forums have lots of advice, here you go:
http://www.fantasystrike.com/forums/index.php?threads/puzzle...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Characters: To get a simpler game going maybe try Gwen, Vendetta, Troq, or Onimaru, roughly in that order. They are the least text-heavy or game warping.

The puzzle chips shouldn't matter much. There aren't really any I can think of that are that much more complicated than the rest. Feel free to pick them at random and enjoy the variety.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Here's my take on ALL the characters from both sets:

https://boardgamegeek.com/blogpost/24373/which-character-pla...