Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wounded XO rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Boyens
United States
Mission Viejo
California
flag msg tools
mb
So my XO (1WO) received a severe wound from an escort attack. Now the chart says that all detection rolls receive a +2. So in 1942, there is a +2 for year, a +2 for my wounded WO, and a +1 for previous detection = +5. Almost impossible to avoid attack, with a high probability of getting the +1 on the attack roll. Escort kept attacking until flooding caused scuttling.

Should the wound +2 be for one round only, as it takes time for the 2WO to take the 1WO's place? Or is it for the rest of the patrol (the way I played it), which will be very short.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Smith
United States
Kokomo
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you look at table E2 Escort Detection, it states that if the Commander AND the 1WO are SW then the roll is +2. If your Commander is OK or LW and the 1WO is SW then you are OK.

The +2 only applies if they are BOTH SW or, the 1WO is KIA and the Commander is SW.

edit: The game ends if the Commander is KIA.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Robert,
Randy is correct...sorry if that wasn't more clear.

Greg
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Boyens
United States
Mission Viejo
California
flag msg tools
mb
OK, I was looking at Chart E5 - U-Boat Damage and Repair Chart:

Under Crew Injury, it says for First Officer(1WO) 2WO takes over. Detection (E2) and to Hit ((U1) rolls are +2.

I read this as the 2WO takes over the 1WO role, but I see where it could be read as a progression from Kommandant - first KMDT goes down, then 1WO, so that 2WO takes over the sub.

This was actually my son's second patrol, and it cost him the sub (his first patrol ended in the first Transit box due to aircraft. Quite a different experience than I had - like 10+ patrols with virtually no damage
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.