$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Ambush!» Forums » Rules

Subject: More newbie questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
So, these are the LOS rules as written:

Quote:
8/1 Tracing a Line of Sight
[...]
If the LOS crosses any part of a blocking hex or hexside, the LOS is blocked.
[...]
Note that, for example in the case of woods, a LOS can be blocked by any part of the hex – not just by the woods symbol itself.


So why in the examples given (ex.2 C&D, ex.4 B&E) do the counters in woods have any line of sight? The LOS obviously has to cross the hexside of a piece in a wood hex, therefore negating the LOS.

Also, by name one would figure that cover hexes would provide just that, yet they aren't mentioned in the rules. Are they solely relevant for missions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
"Hey, Joe! Got any live ones!?", (but Joe had no grenades). The tank rumbled nearer. Johnny stuffed explosives into his gloves, burrowed deep in the muck and waited; then deftly slapped them into a greasy tread axle and spun for cover; snap-firing...
mbmbmbmbmb
8/1 continues on page 18...

"An LOS can be traced into a forest, brush, rubble, or rough hex, but not through it."


"Cover" is primarily modeled in Ambush! on the Fire Combat Modifiers chart by "location" and secondarily by blocking terrain affecting LOS (including buildings and elevations), although certain paragraph checks and perception check modifiers occasionally apply per those specific instructions and some mission briefings note modifiers for specific landmarks.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you very much. However i did not find it where it says that cover affects LOS.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
"Hey, Joe! Got any live ones!?", (but Joe had no grenades). The tank rumbled nearer. Johnny stuffed explosives into his gloves, burrowed deep in the muck and waited; then deftly slapped them into a greasy tread axle and spun for cover; snap-firing...
mbmbmbmbmb
Check the Fire Combat Modifier chart. There is a column named as Location. The column lists the various terrain cover modifiers for you. That, or possibly a landmark or building or elevation is the cover in this game.

Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
"Hey, Joe! Got any live ones!?", (but Joe had no grenades). The tank rumbled nearer. Johnny stuffed explosives into his gloves, burrowed deep in the muck and waited; then deftly slapped them into a greasy tread axle and spun for cover; snap-firing...
mbmbmbmbmb
Cover only affects LOS as terrain to the extent that LOS may not be traced through certain hexes and LOS is sometimes restricted into and out of certain hexes and buildings.

Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.