Subject: From Artist to Designer ~ My story in Games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alisha Volkman
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
I want to start out by saying that I am not here to brag, but hopefully to inspire other women who love games to go for their dreams and put out something they love!

My name is Alisha Volkman, I have been an artist most of my life, and discovered that doing art for board games is awesome. I love to play them, and being able to design how they look was something I found intriguing. I stumbled upon a site called www.thegamecrafter.com, where I found other people who love board games meeple. Sure, I may have been one of few other women on the site, but I was welcomed in with open arms modest.

While hanging out with an awesome community of game designers I entered a few game contests, and designed a few silly games. I even ran a few small kickstarters on my own. Even though they were not the greatest, and I was ill prepared, I learned a ton from them. That was in 2013, and since then I have learned a ton.

On my journey, like anyone, I made mistakes, pushed beyond my means, and even published a few games that could of used months more of testing. I think it is important to make mistakes as we always seem to learn from them, and learn from them I did!

A learning contest started on The Game Crafter several months ago, and I thought to myself, what kind of thing could I teach. This is where my two passions, art and games merged into one. I made a game called Underlings of Underwing, a game where you create dragon eggs using color theory, and hatch them into awesome dragons. The game went over well at Protospiels and I got a ton of great feedback from other awesome designers like Tank and DPS games, which is a married couple team of designers.