$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using "unnecessary" bottom-row actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lauri Lannetta
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
For example, could I use the bottom-row action to build a mech after completing all four just to "trade" resources for gold and ongoing recruit bonuses?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin M
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely. If you can pay for an action, you are not required to take all the associated rewards.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damian White
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules (p.14):

"Eventually you may "complete" a bottom-row action (eg., with the Upgrade action, at some point you may have nothing more to upgrade). After that point you may continue to pay the cost of the action to gain the coins (and the recruit bonus, if applicable).
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederik Suijs
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a consequence, do you neighbors also get the recruit bonus (if applicable)?

Can you opt, as the active player, to not take the recruit bonus, to prevent your neighbors from taking it?

Or is the choice you make totally independent from what your neighbors can do, meaning, as soon as you pay the cost for the bottom action, you can take whatever is associated to it ( upgrade/deploy...coins...recruit bonus ), and your neighbors can also choose whether or not to take the recruit bonus ( if applicable ) ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frederik__ wrote:
As a consequence, do you neighbors also get the recruit bonus (if applicable)?

Can you opt, as the active player, to not take the recruit bonus, to prevent your neighbors from taking it?

Or is the choice you make totally independent from what your neighbors can do, meaning, as soon as you pay the cost for the bottom action, you can take whatever is associated to it ( upgrade/deploy...coins...recruit bonus ), and your neighbors can also choose whether or not to take the recruit bonus ( if applicable ) ?
Your neighbors get the Recruit bonus when you take the action, not when you use your Recruit bonus. Once you announce that you have taken the action (even if you don't get all of the benefit), your neighbors are eligible to get their Recruit bonuses.

(And to clarify, if your "Build" action is "Mech + 3 coins," and you take the action just to get the coins, you are still "taking the Build action," which means if your neighbors have enlisted that recruit, they can get the bonus.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Yeah, I didn't realize this until a 4p game where 2 of them hadn't played before. One of the new players was able to get set up in a position where he could bounce back and forth between produce and a bottom-row action that gave you 3 coins (forgot which one it was). He basically spent the last third of the game or so making 3 coins every other turn and ended up winning.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Charlton
United Kingdom
New Barnet
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
www.finchleygamesclub.org
Avatar
mb
ObligatoryReference wrote:
Yeah, I didn't realize this until a 4p game where 2 of them hadn't played before. One of the new players was able to get set up in a position where he could bounce back and forth between produce and a bottom-row action that gave you 3 coins (forgot which one it was). He basically spent the last third of the game or so making 3 coins every other turn and ended up winning.


That actually sounds really inefficient. Remember that those resources would also have been worth VPs if kept until the end of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Reitberger
Germany
Nürnberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RandomGraham wrote:
ObligatoryReference wrote:
Yeah, I didn't realize this until a 4p game where 2 of them hadn't played before. One of the new players was able to get set up in a position where he could bounce back and forth between produce and a bottom-row action that gave you 3 coins (forgot which one it was). He basically spent the last third of the game or so making 3 coins every other turn and ended up winning.


That actually sounds really inefficient. Remember that those resources would also have been worth VPs if kept until the end of the game.


That depends on how many resources you need for the action and weather you get an recruit bonus as well. Tactically it's an advantage to turn resources into coins because a huge pile of resources could be attacked.
Basically you need to calculate if a different action would create more than 3 points in a single turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.