$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

ZhanGuo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding hiring workers... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Plante
United States
Greenville
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I looked through the forum posts and couldn't find an answer to this question, I also watched Paul's how to play video and want to make sur eI'm playing correctly.

When hiring workers do I have to move down officials or do the ones occupying the bottom portion of the board count? I played that you could use officials already there.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Munro-Chitty
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moving officials down is a different action. You have to already have officials in the lower area to hire workers, unless you get the workers via a card bonus triggering.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Plante
United States
Greenville
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
colemunrochitty wrote:
Moving officials down is a different action. You have to already have officials in the lower area to hire workers, unless you get the workers via a card bonus triggering.

That's what I thought, but I saw a few people post that in order to hire workers you had to transfer officials down to the worker area too.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Munro-Chitty
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahaa...it's even more simple than that. From rules page 8...

"Important! Moving Officials from the Governors area of a Region to
the Workers area of the same Region does not cost re-assignment points and can be done at any time during the player’s turn, regardless of the action performed.
Reminder: The Workers Area of each Region can host up to 2 Officials."

...so it can be done at any time, it does cost reassignment points to move them back up.

Best
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dang Nguyen Hai
Vietnam
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
colemunrochitty wrote:
Ahaa...it's even more simple than that. From rules page 8...

"Important! Moving Officials from the Governors area of a Region to
the Workers area of the same Region does not cost re-assignment points and can be done at any time during the player’s turn, regardless of the action performed.
Reminder: The Workers Area of each Region can host up to 2 Officials."

...so it can be done at any time, it does cost reassignment points to move them back up.

Best


I second this, just move Officials from the Governors area to the Workers area for free if you want to increase the number of hired worker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Oakley
United States
Brandon
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Papa Ninja wrote:
I looked through the forum posts and couldn't find an answer to this question, I also watched Paul's how to play video and want to make sur eI'm playing correctly.

When hiring workers do I have to move down officials or do the ones occupying the bottom portion of the board count? I played that you could use officials already there.

Thanks


Some confusing responses. In short, moving officials down to the worker area is always a free action. You must have officials in the worker area to hire workers (1 worker per official - maximum of 2 officials); you can use the officials that are already in the worker area to hire workers or move new officials into the worker area to hire workers.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Plante
United States
Greenville
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all the responses, and thanks Joel for the clear answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry I was away and missed this message, but looks like you got the answers you needed

Thanks for watching the video - hope it helped.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Plante
United States
Greenville
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulGrogan wrote:
Sorry I was away and missed this message, but looks like you got the answers you needed

Thanks for watching the video - hope it helped.

The video was excellent, short and everything explained well. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.