$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Damage Example? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In the Learn to Play book, page 11, there's an example of Monster Activation that includes combat.

In the Combat window, it says "Suffer 2 Damage". Nowhere does it specify "facedown" or "faceup".

But on that page point 6. says "The effect generated by the app instructs Agatha to suffer two facedown Damage..."

Nowhere on the screenshot does it say that the damage is "facedown".

On page 12, under "Damage & Horror", it says "When an effect causes an investigator to suffer Damage or Horror, he draws the top card of the Damage or Horror deck, respectively. He claims the card faceup unless the effect specifies otherwise."

So I'm confused. Since the combat example with the Deep One on page 11 did not specify faceup or facedown, and the default is faceup, then WHY in the example is the damage card taken facedown???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Some of the example images seem to have issues. One talks about being restrained due to taking damage, but as far as I can tell that's *not* a general rule, and neither does the shown app attack instruction say anything about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The skill test in that example also seems in error.

The screen shows Strength+1. The Investigator has Strength 2. In the example, they roll 2 dice.

But the rules (p. 13) say "The test declaration might also indicate a modifier, such as “–1,” which causes the investigator to roll more or fewer dice for the skill test."

So shouldn't they have rolled 3 dice? Strength 2+1=3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Eye
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yeah, some of the rule examples are in the oldschool-ffg territory on this one ...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julia
msg tools
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
badge
Amor, sola lex
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, rules could have been better worded. In any case, Rich, damage and horror are always dealt faceup unless the app calls for facedown cards
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I think they just probably based the example text on a different screen image then changed the image without changing the text, but regardless, it seems erroneous and such a large error in one of the few examples in the book meant to teach newcomers how to play is really a major error. Hope they issue an FAQ clarification quickly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.