$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Last Blitzkrieg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ending Activation in Command Radius rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Chin
msg tools
Item 11 in the BCS errata says that "Units must end an Activation either in Command Radius or must stay in the hex in which they began it." Does "Activation" refer to the entire Formation, or to individual units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lynn Brower
United States
Solon
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Ken,

Activation always refers to a Formation.

To add a little more to the passage you quote. "All Units of a Formation must end any Activation of their formation in Command Radius or must stay in the hex in which they began it."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Essig
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
This was something that was just clarified for the v1.1 rules, the original wording said end "their Activation" which implied the specific unit's... I changed that to end "the Activation" to make it more clear we are talking about the whole Formation.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Chin
msg tools
Thank you for the response to my question.

This is a summary of the rule as I understand it:

1. If unit is inside "Command Radius" "at the moment" it starts its Activation, then it must remain in "Command Radius" when it completes its Activation.
2. If unit is outside "Command Radius" "at the moment" it starts its Activation, then it has two options:
a. it must remain in its hex for the rest of the Formation's Activation
b. EITHER it moves in such a way that it either gets back inside "Command Radius" when it completes its Activation,
OR moves as close as possible to getting back inside "Command Radius" when it completes its Activation


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lynn Brower
United States
Solon
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Ken,

Correct on all counts.

Also remember that with your option a or b if the unit remains outside of Command Radius at the end of the Activation the unit will suffer Isolation.
For sure 1 Step loss for Out of CR and possibly 1 Step Loss for No Safe Path depending on distance from HQ/terrain and EZOCs.

COMMENTARY: Dean really means it when he says keep your units in Command Radius.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.