Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Saloon Tycoon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Open Claims Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sergey Zinger
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Hi all, I wasn't clear from the rule book on this, but to complete an open claim that has buildings (e.g. you need to have a laundry in your saloon), does a building need to be completed (with all of the blocks on it), or does a building just need to be purchased and on your player board?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Mazzone
United States
Maspeth
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thats a confusing one, but a building is still a building, regardless of if its completed or not. Once it hits your board, you own it, and when you place the cubes, it gets you the bonus... Placing the cubes does not magically transform the building into what its suppossed to be, it already is that type when you buy it and place it.

So Ill say it just needs to be on your board somewhere. There are no other cards or instances that specifically refer to a 'completed building', at least none we saw while playing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergey Zinger
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Thanks! The reason I was confused is because you don't get the people until you complete the building so you can't fulfill the claims that require you have the citizens until all the blocks are placed.

Additionally, the way I was thinking of buildings is like you're buying the foundation for a theater, but it's not finished until all of the blocks are there... So your saloon doesn't really have a working theater until it's "completed".

When I played the first two times, we played the way you suggested, just wanted confirmation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Mazzone
United States
Maspeth
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you place the cubes and complete the building, yes, you get the bonus, whether its a character, or cards, or whatever. Then future purchases would rely on having those characters in order to purchase other buildings. But no matter what, those buildings are what they are when you buy them. So you need to complete them in order to get the bonuses and be able to buy others that have required conditions. But it never states that a building is an incomplete placeholder or an empty lot until it gets its cubes and completes.

Im sure a company rep will eventually jump in to confirm, but thats how we're playing it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A.J. Porfirio
United States
Thompsons Station
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
What Van Ryder Game are YOU playing?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only need to "have" the tile(s) - "have" being the operative word. It does not need to be finished.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergey Zinger
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Thanks! We've been playing right then.

It's a very fun game, and excellent Kickstarter campaign.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A.J. Porfirio
United States
Thompsons Station
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
What Van Ryder Game are YOU playing?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Glad you are enjoying it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.