Chris
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2007/03/28
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arcane Bow Mastery has a reflex range of 1, which means it can only target things in Ardenai's area. Does it affect a bow action that is being done at range 2?

My interpretation is yes it does. The bow itself is at range 1, so the mastery reflex works even though the bow action is being used at range 2.

If this interpretation is correct, why do Piercing Arrows and Lightning Arrows have a range of 2 for their reflex effects (while Flame Arrows and Arcane Bow Mastery have a range of 1)? Is the intent that he can give someone else's Ranged card the lightning or piercing effect? That does not seem correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Bow Mastery targets himself/the effect, not the target of the attack, so range is irrelevant/range 1 is sufficient. (They're mildly inconsistent what range to give cards where range doesn't matter, sometimes it's 2 like some sort of default)

Arrows all use some permutation of "you" I think, so regardless of range can't be used on someone else (unlike the casters' auras, for example, which could be used on others if they manage to have the required keywords (most don't)).

Piercing and Lightning do something in particular to the targeted enemy (reduce armor for the attack) or targeted hero area (create a second lighting arc there), so that might be why they have to reach it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2007/03/28
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Weltenreiter wrote:
Arrows all use some permutation of "you" I think

Piercing does, but Lightning does not:

Lightning Arrows
[H] (2) Reflex: All (pyhsical damage) or (magic damage) dealt by a single Ranged card becomes (magic damage). Add +1 (magic damage), (focus shift 2 right) to that damage. Deal 2 (magic damage) to a different Enemy in the same Area ([H} or [Q]). Discard 1 (arrow) from this card.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Heh, that could be used on others then, if they were to use Ranged cards (TRIPLE TRAP!).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. G. Kubacki
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Weltenreiter wrote:
Heh, that could be used on others then, if they were to use Ranged cards (TRIPLE TRAP!).


Correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.