Thumb up
2 Posts

A Distant Plain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Government Troop Redeploy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Thomson
flag msg tools
This is the end; hold your breath and count to ten; feel the earth move and then; hear my heart burst again
"We are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are; one equal temper of heroic hearts, made weak by time and fate, but strong in will to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield." - Tennyson
Hi again,

In a solo game, which takes precedence:

8.1.2, 5th bullet: "Do not move a piece out of a space if it would place or remove Control there."

6.5.2 Redeploy: "The Coalition may move any of its Troops... Then the Government must do so with its Troops."

In the Redeploy phase of a Propaganda round, if there is a COIN Control space with nothing but Government Troops there, do they all leave (as per 6.5.2, but ceding Control), or does one remain behind so as not to violate 8.1.2?


 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
flag msg tools
Non-players follow all the rules in chapters 1-7 except one: if the Sequence of Play gives them a LimOp, they get a full Op&Special Activity instead.

With that single exception, chapter 8 tells you what choices the NPs make within the options allowed by the rules in chapters 1-7.

To answer your specific question, since rule 6.5.2 says that Govt must move those Troops, Govt has no choice but to move them. They are not allowed to stay, no matter how much NP Govt would like them to. If 6.5.2 had said "may", then NP Govt would have had a choice and would have done its best to apply the 8.1.2 instructions.

 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.