$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Doomtown: Reloaded» Forums » General

Subject: A question on Marking a Deed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Shaeffer
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
So if the card says to Mark a deed or the town square and no one challenges it you get something. By no one challenging it does that mean right then - say no one is at that deed. OR does it mean it hast to get back to your turn for you collect the "no challenge" reward. Obviously if some can challenge it it means a shootouts happens. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jevon Heath
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Go on 'head get down with it.
badge
Take it to the chorus!
mbmbmbmbmb
Whenever you do a Job, you form a posse against the mark. There's not necessarily an opposing posse in this case. Even if there are dudes at a marked location; even if the mark is a dude – if no one wants to defend the job, then you just get the job's effects, and your posse goes home (booted).

The whole process of "start job - leader assigns posse - defender? - defender assigns posse - shootout? - leader's posse goes home - defender's posse goes home?" constitutes a single turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodney Cockrell
United States
Corona
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
budarooski wrote:
So if the card says to Mark a deed or the town square and no one challenges it you get something. By no one challenging it does that mean right then - say no one is at that deed. OR does it mean it hast to get back to your turn for you collect the "no challenge" reward. Obviously if some can challenge it it means a shootouts happens. Thanks


You announce that you are doing a job and therefore marking something. You then give your opponents an opportunity to accept the job. If nobody challenges you, you win and the turn passes to the next player. If they do, go through the necessary steps of moving people/forming posses/shootout/etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way this works is explained in the rules about jobs:

https://www.alderac.com/doomtown/files/2014/09/DTRulebookrev...
budarooski wrote:
By no one challenging it does that mean right then - say no one is at that deed. OR does it mean it hast to get back to your turn for you collect the "no challenge" reward.

Ok, so the first thing that happens after you chose your leader and chose the mark is to form your posse first:
Step 3 wrote:
Once the leader’s chosen, it’s time to form posses. Just like in shootouts, the leader forms a posse first.

Once you've declared your posse, then the controller of the mark can form a posse:
Quote:
Once the leader has declared who’s joining their posse, the mark’s controller can also form a posse.

If the mark is a deed and you control it, then the mark's owner can now form a posse:
Quote:
If the mark’s controller chooses not to (or cannot) form a posse, the mark’s owner, if different from the controller, can form a posse.

If you are both the controller and owner of the deed, then any player can now form a posse:
Quote:
If neither the controller nor the owner choose to form a posse (this is always the case with jobs that mark the town square or the leader’s own cards), then any player, starting with the player to the left of the leader, can form a posse to oppose the job.

Ok, so if nobody forms a posse to oppose, then the job succeeds.
Quote:
If no one forms a posse to oppose the job, the job automatically succeeds; skip to step 5.

Step 5 wrote:
Step 5. Is the Job Done?
If the leader’s posse wins the shootout, or no player forms a defending posse, the job succeeds. Otherwise, the job fails.

If you win, now all your dudes go home booted.
Quote:
After the shootout’s over, regardless of the outcome, survivors in the leader’s posse go home booted.

NOW you get the effects of the successful job:
Quote:
Now resolve the effects of a successful job as given on the card

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon St.
Germany
Stuttgart
flag msg tools
Rodzilla68 wrote:

You announce that you are doing a job and therefore marking something. You then give your opponents an opportunity to accept the job. If nobody challenges you, you win and the turn passes to the next player. If they do, go through the necessary steps of moving people/forming posses/shootout/etc.


Just to clarify in response:
The jobs posse is assembled and moves to the mark before any opponent decides whether to challenge it.
Even if noone challenges the job, everybody on the jobs posse goes home booted afterwards.
(see soulblights step by step description)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Antaiseito wrote:

The jobs posse is assembled and moves to the mark before any opponent decides whether to challenge it.


More precisely, the leader declares their posse before the defending player does. Both posses move to the location of the mark simultaneously as per step 4:

Step 4 wrote:
Once posses are formed, all dudes in both posses move to the mark’s location simultaneously.


Since Step 4 is skipped if there is no defending posse, the job would succeed automatically and your dudes would go home booted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.