$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: RTL Monster Placement... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If instructions would cause a monster to be placed in lava, do you do that or place them as close as possible to the instructions without being in lava?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niclas Lundberg
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What kind of monster is it?
Some monster are immune to hazard spaces, and if its a big monster and not ALL of its spaces are in a hazard space, they are not killed.

Seems odd the app would suggest "placing a goblin archer in lava"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Houston
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmb
Also note, being placed in lava/hazard has no direct effect. The only effect would be if the monster decides to not move at all (thus dying at the end of its activation). But personally, if the app had me placing monsters, assuming a lava space were not the exact space highlighted, I'd cluster them elsewhere as closely as possible to the main square.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
plolock wrote:
What kind of monster is it?
Some monster are immune to hazard spaces, and if its a big monster and not ALL of its spaces are in a hazard space, they are not killed.

Seems odd the app would suggest "placing a goblin archer in lava"


The exact instructions were "place a cave spider adjacent to each hero". For two of the heroes, the only empty adjacent space was in lava. To be even more precise, they both had only one space adjacent to them that was empty and it happened to be the same lava space. The next closest empty space to either of them was also a lava space. It looked like this after placing two of the four spiders:

XXXXX
XXHHX
XHHLXX
XSSLLLX
XEEEEEX

X = off map
E = empty space (no terrain)
L = lava
H = Hero
S = Spider

At this point, there were two more spiders left to place. We placed them in the two leftmost lava spaces and dealt them each one damage.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
SeanLuc wrote:
Also note, being placed in lava/hazard has no direct effect. The only effect would be if the monster decides to not move at all (thus dying at the end of its activation).


Is a newly placed monster not considered to have entered the space it is placed in? I know lava doesn't defeat a figure until the end of its activation, but would it not take 1 damage if newly placed in lava?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Mc
msg tools
There was a statement from FFG a while back - don't know if it made it into any errata or anything but it says:

"It’s hard to give a umbrella rule for this, but a good rule of thumb is that if the figure was already on the map when it is placed/moved into a new space, that figure is entering that space. If you are not moving the figure from one space to another, but placing a figure that was not on the map, that figure is not entering that space."

With this logic, the new monsters are not "entering" lava, and thus will not take any damage for being spawned/reinforced there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.