Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Pursuit of Happiness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Short Term Happiness discount rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
They call me Mister...
Ireland
Donegal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This only counts for Projects right? It states all Projects but later on it also states that all Projects refers to single, group and basic projects.

I have seen some people suggest that jobs and relationships count as projects due to the three slots thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ibbo wrote:
This only counts for Projects right? It states all Projects but later on it also states that all Projects refers to single, group and basic projects.

I have seen some people suggest that jobs and relationships count as projects due to the three slots thing.
Hey Ibbo,

As the rules state, the reduction or penalty applies for projects only of any type: ongoing, single-round or team.

Rulebook, p. 15 wrote:
When you take or advance a Project (of any type) you may pay 1 less resource of your choice (Knowledge, Creativity or Influence) for each STH you have. [...] On the other hand, if you have negative STH, you have to pay additional resources when taking or advancing Projects


Regarding the slots, they are not project slots. They are Project/Job/Partner slots:
Rulebook, p. 6 wrote:
You have 3 "slots" in front of you in which Projects, Jobs and Partners are put.
Rulebook, p. 10 wrote:
Jobs take one of the 3 slots in front of you. Thus, if you already have 3 or more Projects and Partners (combined) when you get a Job, you get 1 Stress.
Rulebook, p. 11 wrote:
Partners take one of the three “slots” in front of you. Thus, if your ongoing Projects and Job are 3 or more when you get a Partner, you get 1 Stress.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ibbo wrote:
I have seen some people suggest that jobs and relationships count as projects due to the three slots thing.
They are wrong. Whether they are unclear on the rules -- and, honestly, that can be confusing, so it's understandable -- or trying to "misread" the rules to their advantage, I can't say. But that suggestion is wrong. If the card doesn't say "Project" on the back, IT'S NOT A PROJECT.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim Leenaerts
Belgium
Beerse
Antwerp
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryudoowaru wrote:
Ibbo wrote:
I have seen some people suggest that jobs and relationships count as projects due to the three slots thing.
They are wrong. Whether they are unclear on the rules -- and, honestly, that can be confusing, so it's understandable -- or trying to "misread" the rules to their advantage, I can't say.

None of this all. They probably have the first edition rules because that version explicitely states that jobs, partners and projects all count for the 3 project limit in the upkeep phase and they are all considered to be projects for that purpose.
Glad they changed this because calling something a project in one part of the rules and something else in another part of the rules is very confusing.

So Ibbo, I'd suggest to use only the second edition rules as a reference and keep in mind that there where some rules changes (items can be advanced now for example).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On a similar vein, the discount can not be used to save an hourglass, yes?. The rules say the discount counts towards resources, but I don't find anywhere that explicitly defines resources. We ruled that since you have to take some sort of action to get knowledge/creativity/influence they were "resources", but since the hourglasses came automatically they were not. We were less clear on money, though. I think we did ultimately decide that you could use the discount for money.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 6 of the rulebook wrote:
There are 3 resources in the game:
Knowledge, Creativity and Influence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bhz1 wrote:
Page 6 of the rulebook wrote:
There are 3 resources in the game:
Knowledge, Creativity and Influence.


One line makes all the difference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.