$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Hunt for Gollum questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

A couple more HfG questions from a n00b:

Rules of Play, Guarded wrote:
If another objective card comes up while attaching a card for the guarded keyword, place the second objective in the staging area, and use the next card of the encounter deck to fulfill the original keyword effect.

FAQ wrote:
Q: Does the Guarded keyword trigger when the encounter card it’s on is “added” to the staging area (and not “revealed”)? A: No. In order for the Guarded keyword to trigger, the encounter card it appears on must be “revealed” from the encounter deck.

1. So that means the second objective card is unguarded?

Signs of Gollum wrote:
After the players quest successfully, the players may claim Signs of Gollum if it has no attached encounters.

The Hunt Begins wrote:
Forced: After the players quest successfully, the first player looks at the top 3 cards of the encounter deck. Reveal and add 1 of those cards to the staging area, and discard the other 2 cards.

FAQ 1.24 wrote:
As soon as the players determine that the total committed Willpower is greater than the total Threat in the staging area, they are considered to have quested successfully. Any Forced or passive effects initiated by questing successfully resolve before physically placing progress tokens.

2. So does the fact that "questing successfully" occurs before Forced effects mean that a Signs of Gollum card that is revealed by the Forced effect of The Hunt Begins cannot be claimed until the following round?

Cheers!

Edits: Formatting and added the answer to the FAQ from my first question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Broderick
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Draw another card to guard the second objective card.

2. Yes. (Unless the guarding card is a treachery card, which will resolve immediately).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Thanks for your answers!

cornishlee wrote:
1. Draw another card to guard the second objective card.

This ruling makes sense to me, but doesn't the FAQ seem to contradict it?

cornishlee wrote:
2. Yes. (Unless the guarding card is a treachery card, which will resolve immediately).

The Treachery card is the exact situation I had in mind. The objective becomes unguarded after the Treachery resolves, but the rules I quoted above still seem to imply the window to claim it has expired.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
conanioni Su
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ clarify the difference between "reveal + add" and "add".
Some cards only tell you to "add" a card to the staging area. In this case, the Guarded keyword is not triggered.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.