$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Duke: free action? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Does the duke unique item ability gives you a free trade action, or do you have to spend an action as usual? There's no bold "action" on the card, so it looks like it should be free..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julia
msg tools
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
badge
Amor, sola lex
mbmbmbmbmb
If no "Action" tag is used, then you don't need to spend an action to use the ability
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
philippe lachance
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Got it, thanks Julia
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Hessen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As I read the card, I understood that it is not an action by itself but an improvement over Pete's action.

I did not play as "Free action", I played it as meaning that, if Pete's first action is "Trade", then he can trade an item within range.

The wording is however ambiguous and I guess Julia's interpretation (a free action) is also plausible.

Daniel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any get an official response on this? Came up in our game today, and we interpreted it as not a free action, since it says something along the lines of "during a trade action...".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Johnsson
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If it's not a free action it would be a really shitty ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
riboAWEsome wrote:
If it's not a free action it would be a really shitty ability.


Well, it is still pretty good since you can trade 3 spaces away...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
Germany
Frankfurt am Main
Hessen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Officially confirmed, it is a free action:

Q. “Does using Duke at the start of the turn take one of an investigator’s
two actions?”
A. No. Using Duke does not take one of an investigator’s two actions.

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/27/a1...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.