Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bum Kim
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BACKGROUND: Just tried out a demo game after RuneWars was announced here at Gencon 2016. But first some background as I know there is a huge range of preferences for table-top miniatures war games. I've been searching for a long time for the "perfect" miniatures war game for myself. I'm a miniatures painter at heart and of course love the details and quality of Games Workshop but found the rules too complicated and the minis incredibly expensive, let alone their notorious copyright enforcement. I have also tried Warmahordes and although I enjoyed their rules way more than GW, I didn't like the fact that it was sort of min-maxing your faction in order to win, making for constantly investing more money. I was initially excited about CMON's Wrath of Kings but rather than simplifying the game, the cards actually transferred all the complication from a rule-book onto the cards and the dice rolls. The two games that I ended up liking the most are Deadzone (although minis are subpar) and Song of Blade and Heroes (click here for an in depth comparison between SoBH and Wrath of Kings). I also very much enjoy Star Wars X-Wing, although stopped buying more models after Wave 4. In summary, I want awesome looking models that I can paint and a simple ruleset with a preference for fantasy over sci-fi. Those looking for a complex rule set are not going to find it with RW.