$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Defenders of the Realm» Forums » Rules

Subject: When is a hero dead? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
lorien4 lorien4
Greece
Asprovalta
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a hero suffers wounds, he must lose unspent action tokens or he can loose spent action tokens also? I think the first is correct. If so, after suffering wounds,if the hero has no unspent actions, he is dead, correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a difference between spent tokens and wounds. Spent tokens are merely used actions that replenish the next hero turn; while wounds don't replenish (I know it's confusing because most people move the tokens to the side of the hero chipboard as they're spent.) When a hero is wounded, unspent action tokens should be used first; however, if there are still more wounds to apply, spent tokens can be converted to wounds.

Example - The barbarian has 5 actions. She's spent 3 tokens and has 2 unspent tokens. The barbarian confronts a general and loses; taking 3 wounds. Ideally, she'd like to take the wounds against the 3 tokens she's already spent, since she could take 2 more actions with her unspent tokens before ending her turn. Unfortunately, the barbarian must allocate the wounds to her unspent tokens first; so the 2 unspent tokens become wounds and 1 of her 3 spent tokens also become wounds. Since the barbarian has no more actions, her turn ends and play proceeds to the nighttime phase. Next turn, the barbarian starts with 2 actions and 3 wounds.

Since the barbarian starts her next turn in Monarch City, she will likely spend 1 of her 2 actions to heal wounds. Her 3 wounds are converted to spent tokens; so the barbarian can only take 1 more action before ending her turn.
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lorien4 lorien4
Greece
Asprovalta
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply!

So, in order for a hero to die, he must take wounds equal or more than his action tokens.

I have been playing this way: If a hero's spent actions and wounds are equal to his action tokens, he's dead.

Example: My hero has 5 action tokens. He spent 3 tokens and he suffers 2 wounds = dead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spent tokens are not the same thing as wounds, they're just exhausted actions, so your hero is still alive. I know it's confusing because your action tokens also serve as your wounds and on the current turn, wounds behave like spent tokens.

With the example you used, you'd have 2 wounds and 3 spent tokens. Those 3 spent tokens would be renewed the next time your hero takes a turn, so the hero is alive and could take 3 actions next turn.

If you like, you could consider the action tokens like stamina. Each action uses a little bit of your stamina. Taking wounds or engaging in heroic activities (traveling, fighting, etc) uses up your available stamina. The difference between wounds and spent tokens is that spent tokens come back next turn because the hero rests during the night time phase; however, a good night's sleep isn't going to cure a sword wound, so in the morning the hero can do less than what they did before they got wounded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's another example:

A hero with 5 actions wants to attack a group of 3 Zealots in the next space and a pair of zealots 2 spaces away. When Zealots are attacked, any surviving Zealots inflict a wound on the hero. Here's the breakdown on the hero's turn.

The hero spends 1 action token to move into the Zealot's space. The hero has 1 spent token and 4 action tokens.

The hero spends 1 action token to attack the Zealots. The hero now has 2 spent tokens and 3 action tokens. The hero rolls his attack dice and defeats 2 Zealots. Because there's 1 Zealot surviving, that Zealot inflicts a wound on the hero. Since the hero still has 3 action tokens, the wound must come from action tokens. The hero now has 2 action tokens, 1 wound, and 2 spent tokens.

The hero spends 1 action token to move into another space containing 2 Zealots. The hero has 1 action token, 1 wound, and 3 spent tokens.

The hero spends his last action token to attack the Zealots. The hero now has 1 wound and 4 spent tokens. The hero rolls his attack dice and defeats 1 Zealot. The remaining Zealot inflicts a wound on the hero. Since the hero has no more action tokens, the wound must come from the hero's spent tokens. The hero now has 2 wounds and 3 spent tokens.

To make matters worse, the hero is out of actions. Since the hero ended his turn on a space with minions, the hero takes 1 wound. The hero now has 3 wounds and 2 spent tokens. Next turn, the hero will recharge those 2 spent tokens. Hopefully, they can defeat that minion or move away to an empty space next turn because they're very close to death.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lorien4 lorien4
Greece
Asprovalta
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again!

Your explanation is enlightening. I understood perfectly now!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.