Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Escape from the Aliens in Outer Space» Forums » Rules

Subject: Escape pod cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik Correll
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do used escape pod cards get shuffled back in after reveal?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Yeackle
United States
San Luis Obispo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are reshuffled, though it isn't specified but implied in that all the escape pods can end up damaged (thereby causing any remaining humans to lose the game instantly).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duncan Molloy
United Kingdom
Oxford
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mb
Get a consensus from your group, but normally we play without reshuffling. It's much tougher on the humans, but much more tense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It is also implied that they are not reshuffled (in the Engineer's power - draw 2 escape pod cards, play one and put the other on the bottom.)

The phrase that might imply the deck is reshuffled is 'every escape pod has been damaged or used'. note that this phrase can apply if one pod is damaged and 3 have been used.

I think there were a couple of minor problems caused from the change in composition of the escape pod deck - it went from 3 good, 3 broken to 4 good, 1 broken.
This changes the 'impossible to escape' meaning slightly, and the Engineer's power much more powerful (in the original it increased his chance of escape from 50% to 80%, now it increases his chance from 80% to 100%).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevan Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abredon wrote:
It is also implied that they are not reshuffled (in the Engineer's power - draw 2 escape pod cards, play one and put the other on the bottom.)
The Osprey edition says: "THE ENGINEER draws two Escape Pod Cards when he reaches an Escape Pod Sector and chooses which one to use. The unused Escape Pod Card is reshuffled with the remaining Escape Pod Cards." - which suggests that the used Card (from the Engineer or from anyone) isn't reshuffled back into the deck.

The rule for using an Escape Pod just says to draw and reveal a card, and doesn't say to put it anywhere in particular afterwards. I've read that as the pod card staying face-up on the table.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls