$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Oceanos» Forums » Rules

Subject: Captain Expedition Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brett Kitani
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi all,

Picked this up at Gencon, played our first game tonight and we ran into a big question. During one of the players turns, the current Captain only received 1 expedition card from other players due to the use of fuel. His cockpit level was 1. The rules state "if, as the expedition captain, you receive fewer cards than your cockpit level allows you, complete your hand from the deck, until you reach the number of your periscopes + one card." We came up with two interpretations:

1. Your cockpit level is 1. You get one card only because you did not receive zero cards.
2. Your cockpit level is 1 and a level 1 cockpit allows 2 cards (one periscope + one card.)

Which interpretation is correct?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Starek
Czech Republic
Sezimovo Usti
flag msg tools
REALLY badass
mbmbmbmbmb
2.
Cockpit level *allows* number of periscopes + 1.
Thematically, you may think of it as seeing one "part of sea" (one card) via your cabin glass and further "parts of sea" via the periscope(s).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis D
Belgium
Brugge
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
2 is correct one periscope plus one card from the deck
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthieu BONIN
France
Nancy
flag msg tools
publisher
Media & Public Relations at IELLO France
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This rule is to make sure a player get to choose from at least as many cards as normally when it's he's turn to be Captain. In your example, the player playing Captain would usually receive 2 cards from the Captain when it's not him. So it wouldn't be fair if he got less as the Captain… If he does, he can draw as many cards as needed to get a total of cards equal to the number he would have gotten if he was not Captain…

Not sure I made things clearer, though… blush
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antoine Bauza
France
Valence
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
As Captain, you always choose from at least "Periscope Level + 1" so if you got less cards than that from your fellow players, you have to draw from the deck to get to "Periscope Level + 1"
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.