$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trade/pickup order? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules seem to imply that you trade with other investigators before picking up items, but it isn't totally clear.
Is that correct or could you pick up an item and hand it off to someone else in the same action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the Trade Action section of the Rules Reference guide, this can be done in any order.

"An investigator can perform the trade action to allow himself and each
other investigator in his space to give any number of his possessions to
another investigator in his space, pick up any number of possessions
in his space, or drop any number of possessions in his space.
^ These effects can be resolved any number of times and in any order."

So in short, yes, you could pick up an item and pass it to someone else in the same action.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
oldschoolgamr
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Inmat4251 wrote:
According to the Trade Action section of the Rules Reference guide, this can be done in any order.

"An investigator can perform the trade action to allow himself and each
other investigator in his space to give any number of his possessions to
another investigator in his space, pick up any number of possessions
in his space, or drop any number of possessions in his space.
^ These effects can be resolved any number of times and in any order."

So in short, yes, you could pick up an item and pass it to someone else in the same action.

Which is so nice to see in a game - stress free item swapping. With ONE trade action, any investigator can drop, pick up, or trade with any other investigator. So on A's turn, B and C can swap items if all three are in the same space and A made a Trade action. Love the simplicity.
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
oldschoolgamr wrote:
Inmat4251 wrote:
According to the Trade Action section of the Rules Reference guide, this can be done in any order.

"An investigator can perform the trade action to allow himself and each
other investigator in his space to give any number of his possessions to
another investigator in his space, pick up any number of possessions
in his space, or drop any number of possessions in his space.
^ These effects can be resolved any number of times and in any order."

So in short, yes, you could pick up an item and pass it to someone else in the same action.

Which is so nice to see in a game - stress free item swapping. With ONE trade action, any investigator can drop, pick up, or trade with any other investigator. So on A's turn, B and C can swap items if all three are in the same space and A made a Trade action. Love the simplicity.

That's what the existing rule seems to say. If A, B and C are in the same space then if A spends an action to Trade, then B and C can swap items between them.

I can't but help think that this result wasn't what was intended. I guess this is a question to put to FFG.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Horner
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
"An investigator can perform the trade action to allow himself and each other investigator in his space to give any number of his possessions to another investigator in his space, pick up any number of possessions in his space, or drop any number of possessions in his space."


The wording seems clear to me. One trade action allows all investigators in the space to pick up, drop, or give items to each other. The rule would never have been phrased that way if that's not what was intended.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
oldschoolgamr
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hey, you... Over there... Yeah, you picking up that knife. Could you do me a favor? Grab that whiskey bottle sticking out of Carson's pack and slide it into my satchel. Cheers mate!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jlhorner1974 wrote:
Quote:
"An investigator can perform the trade action to allow himself and each other investigator in his space to give any number of his possessions to another investigator in his space, pick up any number of possessions in his space, or drop any number of possessions in his space."


The wording seems clear to me. One trade action allows all investigators in the space to pick up, drop, or give items to each other. The rule would never have been phrased that way if that's not what was intended.


It was a bit unclear to me if the each other investigator only applies to the first clause or to all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rindfleisch
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, consider it this way, if A is able to trade with B, and can also trade with C (since they are all in the same space), then theoretically A can take an item from B and give it to C, and take from C and give it to B. So to give 1 investigator that much freedom when they initiate trade in their space, it is effectively the same thing as giving all investigators in the space the same freedom.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.