Played the game a couple of days ago with a friend, noone played 1st ed. One rule we decided to ask here is regarding discarding of damage/horror.
Sometimes we were instructed to discard a horror, but we had no active ones. However, we had one (or more) facedown horror cards. We decided it should be ok to discard these instead. Did we do the right thing?
Correct. Page 7 of the Rules Reference.
Damage & Horror
When an effect allows an investigator to discard a Damage or
Horror, he may discard a faceup card of his choice or a random
Whenever you are instructed to discard Damage or Horror, you can choose to select a face up card or a random face down card.