$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discard horror/damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Wetterberg
Sweden
flag msg tools
Hi!

Played the game a couple of days ago with a friend, noone played 1st ed. One rule we decided to ask here is regarding discarding of damage/horror.

Sometimes we were instructed to discard a horror, but we had no active ones. However, we had one (or more) facedown horror cards. We decided it should be ok to discard these instead. Did we do the right thing?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Xateotech wrote:
Played the game a couple of days ago with a friend, noone played 1st ed. One rule we decided to ask here is regarding discarding of damage/horror.

Sometimes we were instructed to discard a horror, but we had no active ones. However, we had one (or more) facedown horror cards. We decided it should be ok to discard these instead. Did we do the right thing?

Correct. Page 7 of the Rules Reference.
Quote:
Damage & Horror
When an effect allows an investigator to discard a Damage or
Horror, he may discard a faceup card of his choice or a random
facedown card.

Whenever you are instructed to discard Damage or Horror, you can choose to select a face up card or a random face down card.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Wetterberg
Sweden
flag msg tools
Must have missed that paragraph. Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soak man
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And just for clarity, all horror (face up or face down) count towards becoming wounded or insane, so if something allows you to discard damage or horror, you definitely should if you can. Waiting doesn't seem to be beneficial at all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Wetterberg
Sweden
flag msg tools
Hehe, noticed that. Pretty fun to be insane though
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.