Hide
11 Posts

Oh My Goods!» Forums » General

Subject: Opinion/review from someone new to board gaming rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Constantin Mihai
msg tools
As the title says i'm new to this hobby, having only played games such as Monopoly or basic card games as a child, when the weather was not good enough to chase after a ball or play hide and seek. I have acquired five new games in the past month, and "Oh My Goods!" is one i enjoy playing most, alongside Port Royal and Carcassonne. The other two games are Eight Minute Empire and the small/cheap Settlers of Catan card game, which i didn't mind playing either, but were less popular among my playing partners as well. So definitely keep my extremely limited experience in mind, which could color my opinion of this game for better or worse.

Also, very important to note that i have only played the game with the second set of rules, which involve few changes, such as discarding your hand every turn or replacing your cards and activating all your production chains in the last round. I honestly can't imagine wanting to play the game differently, as you are getting a whole lot more control over what you plan on producing/building each round, as well as being allowed to build up towards that glorious final turn when all your work pays off, and more often than one might think, the player with a better strategy comes out on top, and runs past the one's that just randomly bought cheap buildings, and/or only thought about maximizing production each turn.