$30.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of complete area breakdown and central circuit repair rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Shanowitz
United States
Bristol
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the engineer would cross off a space that would cause a complete area breakdown, but it is also the fourth space on a circuit, does the sub take a damage or does the self-repair happen first?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leon Stansfield
Austria
Lower Austria
flag msg tools
live every day as if it were your first
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Aaron!

Indeed an interesting question. The rulebook is not quite clear in that case. My guess is that self-repair happens first (but the longer I think about it, the less sure I am whistle ).

But you can easily find another approach with a house rule like that:
a) unexperienced players: self-repair is done first
b) experienced players: self-repair is carried out after the sub takes a damage
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Shanowitz
United States
Bristol
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jumpwalker wrote:
But you can easily find another approach with a house rule like that:
a) unexperienced players: self-repair is done first
b) experienced players: self-repair is carried out after the sub takes a damage

That's a good idea, but unfortunately this came up in my group's first play so we were all equally inexperienced.

We eventually just treated it as a complete area breakdown but I'm still wondering what the official word is since it seems like this situation is not uncommon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In the same vein... [in the sense of simultaneous activation]

What if I mark the last radioactive symbol AND it's the last symbol in an area -- does it trigger 2 damage OR simply just 1?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I would go with the negative effect since it was possible to plan better and not suffer the consequences.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leon Stansfield
Austria
Lower Austria
flag msg tools
live every day as if it were your first
mbmbmbmbmb
However, I’m a little surprised that these – apparently not uncommon – events do not show up during the development phase respectively during test sessions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rubbo
United States
Philadelphia
PA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
FWIW, I filed a ticket with Matagot CS, asking to take a look at this thread. We'll see if they come through.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Would be interesting to see the correct answer, but I would imagine going for the more negative result is probably the answer.

- Some thematic spin = Damage happens before self-repairing, b/c you need it to be broken first before you can fix it

- 2x the damage, simply because you have simultaneously had a blown area breakdown AND a radiation leak...might be time for a new engineer.


Either way, looking forward to an official answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

The self-repair occurs first, so, you wouldn't take any damage.

However, for a slightly more difficult game, you could of course decide to deal the damage.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Denning
msg tools
Then again, if you take the damage, it clears the whole board, so it may be better for you than the self-repair.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Thomason
New Zealand
Nelson
None
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
FabienC wrote:
Hi all,

The self-repair occurs first, so, you wouldn't take any damage.

However, for a slightly more difficult game, you could of course decide to deal the damage.


Unless that's in the original rules then NO it doesn't. There is nothing like that in the English rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.