$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Firefly: The Game – Kalidasa» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nav Charts: When can you discard them to gain their effect? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Cluff
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mb
There are lots of Nav Charts on the supply planets.
When can you discard them to gain their effect?

In a five player game recently, 4 players used them at the end of the game to prevent the fifth player from winning.

We each took turns buying a Nav Chart card from a supply planet and then using it to stack the deck against the other player. We were able to move all 3 reavers to block the other player. We did this repeatedly over several rounds and sometimes more than once each round.

Is this ligit?

When can one discard a Nav Chart? On your turn only? Anytime you like?

Thanks for any suggestions/rulings!

Cheers!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Stratford
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have identified the same concern, but the answer is far from clear. The text as written on the cards literally suggests that these can be played at any time, which includes any other player's turn (even if they do not take a Fly Action).

In contract other cards clearly state that they can only be used on your turn. For example, the Crew card for Lucy is very clear that her ability can only be used on your Turn and you need to use an Action.

Then there is the Cry Baby, which only requires that you be in a Sector with the Alliance Cruiser to use it. This could be during your Turn or any other player's turn if they happen to Full Burn into your sector and draw a Nav Card that results in the Alliance Cruiser landing there. But since it also states that the purpose of discarding the Cry Baby is to ignore the Cruisers effects implies that you have to be an Outlaw Ship, otherwise the Cruiser cannot affect you and therefore there are no effects to ignore by discarding it.

So, it seems that either the lack of stipulating "on your Turn" could in fact be intentional, rather than an oversight, but that leads to exactly the issue you've identified.

To me one solution is to agree before you play which way you will play these cards.

It will be interesting to see what others think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cohn
United States
Racine
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, you used the Nav Charts to arrange the cards in the appropriate deck, yes? Rim Space Nav Charts only affect the Rim Space Nav Deck, Alliance Space Nav Charts only affect the Alliance Space Nav Deck, etc?

cluff68 wrote:
We were able to move all 3 Reavers to block the other player.


How so? With the expansions a player may still mosey into a planet that has been "Reavered". You can block them from doing a full burn to a destination with Reavers, but once they are one section outside the destination, they can just mosey (or Evade) right in.

Curious what the set up was? Where was Player A moving to and from that the other 4 players stacked the decks (literally!) to prevent them from winning. Must have been a heck of a trip, I hope they were geared and crewed to the gills to prep for it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.