$30.00
$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Doubt about influence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ferdinand Marques
msg tools
mb
Hi.

If a card said: "Add 2 influence in Egypt..." but if this country was controlled by the oponent then each placed influence costs two?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Suita
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
mbmbmbmbmb
No, influence is not modified. It is two OPs to put one influence in an opponent-controlled country, but that doesn't apply when you add "influence" due to an event.
15 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Santos
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, if a card tells you to add influence you should simply add it, regardless of the influence your opponent has.
Strategically you can use this type of events specifically to break control of a country easily.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a subtle difference:

Place influence: this type of action has the 2-for-1 restriction. It applies to events where you "place influence as if you played an X ops card." If this happens, you do need to pay 2-for-1 into a controlled country (note that once you have broken control of a country, placing influence there becomes 1-for-1, even in the middle of a single place influence action).

Add influence: this type of action, which can only ever happen through an event, has no control penalty. You just get to add that many influence (for example, via The Reformer, the USSR gets to "add" either 4 or 6 influence in Europe, which means they'll place either 4 or 6 influence points, regardless of if it's in a controlled country or not)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferdinand Marques
msg tools
mb
Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.