GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,080 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
33 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: two Fire rule questions??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bill braskey
msg tools
1. The rules reference says At the beginning of each mythos phase, before event is resolved, fire spreads.
If one or more spaces contain Fire, place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.

So at most each turn only 1 additional fire token gets added? or multiple fire tokens?

2. The app reminds you to add a fire token at the beginning of each mythos phase, then it immediately activates monsters attack. The rule states Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing Fire or moves into a space containing Fire, it suffers one damage.
Wouldn't this cause the monster to die before it could attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bbraskey wrote:
1. The rules reference says At the beginning of each mythos phase, before event is resolved, fire spreads.
If one or more spaces contain Fire, place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.

So at most each turn only 1 additional fire token gets added? or multiple fire tokens?


place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.

Quote:
2. The app reminds you to add a fire token at the beginning of each mythos phase, then it immediately activates monsters attack. The rule states Whenever a monster starts its activation in a space containing Fire or moves into a space containing Fire, it suffers one damage.
Wouldn't this cause the monster to die before it could attack?


If the monster only has 1 health, then sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Kaczor
Poland
Chorzów
INTL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So if we have more than one space adjacent to fire we put new fire token where? we choose where to put it? And following this, we can control the fire spreading direction?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mikael mordai
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
will the monsters run into fires?...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AkitaInu wrote:
So if we have more than one space adjacent to fire we put new fire token where? we choose where to put it? And following this, we can control the fire spreading direction?


Basically, yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mordai wrote:
will the monsters run into fires?...


There is nothing that stops them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Vetter
Denmark
Hilleroed
flag msg tools
bleached_lizard wrote:
mordai wrote:
will the monsters run into fires?...


There is nothing that stops them.


So if there are more than one possible route, one going through fire and one that does not, we may choose to make the monster run through fire??? :O
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
magikerendk wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
mordai wrote:
will the monsters run into fires?...


There is nothing that stops them.


So if there are more than one possible route, one going through fire and one that does not, we may choose to make the monster run through fire??? :O

As long as it confirms to the instruction as supplied by the app, yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Kaczor
Poland
Chorzów
INTL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So to clarify:

Each space containing fire puts a new fire token in one of the adjacent spaces yes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AkitaInu wrote:
So to clarify:

Each space containing fire puts a new fire token in one of the adjacent spaces yes?


No. Only one new fire token is placed each round, regardless of the number of spaces on fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Kaczor
Poland
Chorzów
INTL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
AkitaInu wrote:
So to clarify:

Each space containing fire puts a new fire token in one of the adjacent spaces yes?


No. Only one new fire token is placed each round, regardless of the number of spaces on fire.


Hmm but basing on this:

If one or more spaces contain Fire, place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.


if we have two spaces that have fire token on them we should place fire token in a space adjacent to first space with fire token and second space with fire token... at least I think so
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AkitaInu wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
AkitaInu wrote:
So to clarify:

Each space containing fire puts a new fire token in one of the adjacent spaces yes?


No. Only one new fire token is placed each round, regardless of the number of spaces on fire.


Hmm but basing on this:

If one or more spaces contain Fire, place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.


if we have two spaces that have fire token on them we should place fire token in a space adjacent to first space with fire token and second space with fire token... at least I think so


If it were what you proposed then it would read:

If one or more spaces contain Fire, place a Fire token in a different space adjacent to each space that contains fire.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin M
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I completely misread the rules on fire and I was making it spread WAAAAAAY faster than it should. This changes things completely!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Vetter
Denmark
Hilleroed
flag msg tools
bleached_lizard wrote:
AkitaInu wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
AkitaInu wrote:
So to clarify:

Each space containing fire puts a new fire token in one of the adjacent spaces yes?


No. Only one new fire token is placed each round, regardless of the number of spaces on fire.


Hmm but basing on this:

If one or more spaces contain Fire, place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.


if we have two spaces that have fire token on them we should place fire token in a space adjacent to first space with fire token and second space with fire token... at least I think so


If it were what you proposed then it would read:

If one or more spaces contain Fire, place a Fire token in a different space adjacent to each space that contains fire.


I agree with Chris. They clearly write ONE token if one OR MORE contains fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only confusion we had was in one game, we had two different fires start up (a Mob decided to start a fire!). We weren't sure that we needed to have each separate fire spread or not, but after rereading the rules, it was just one fire.

Does fire spread through walls? I don't think it does since Walls block effects that don't specifically state they go through walls...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
The only confusion we had was in one game, we had two different fires start up (a Mob decided to start a fire!). We weren't sure that we needed to have each separate fire spread or not, but after rereading the rules, it was just one fire.

Does fire spread through walls? I don't think it does since Walls block effects that don't specifically state they go through walls...

-shnar


Fire doesn't spread through walls.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Cox
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
'If one or more spaces contain Fire, place one Fire token in a space adjacent to a space that contains fire.'

Looks like the confusion is arising from the 'a' I've bolded, as it could be taken to suggest all, or any. The rest of the sentence is phrased otherwise though, so that can't be what's meant. The first clause would be redundant, 'one fire token' would likely be 'a fire token', and 'in a space' would be 'in each space', as the lizard said earlier. It might say 'Place a fire token adjacent to each space already containing a fire token'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No ambiguity whatsoever.
"One" is singular and describes the fire token being place.
"A" is also singular and describes the space where your are placing it.

One token, one space. That's all.

The only plural in the sentence regers to fire tokens already on the board. If they had made it singular that would be more confusing as you could interpret as fire only spreading if there were exactly one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ste M
msg tools
They should have wrote. In fire spread phase, if there is already at least 1 fire token on the map, you can take a fire token and place it in a space that does not contains fire adjacent to a place that contains fire. Then Conclude the spreading phase.
Take care even to extinguish fire rule, which IMHO is bad written.
My first game while mansion was on fire
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stefano1234 wrote:
They should have wrote. In fire spread phase, if there is already at least 1 fire token on the map, you can take a fire token and place it in a space that does not contains fire adjacent to a place that contains fire. Then Conclude the spreading phase.


Oh no, that's far worse. Understanding singular "a" is all you need to understand the fire rule as it is written.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Stefano1234 wrote:
They should have wrote. In fire spread phase, if there is already at least 1 fire token on the map, you can take a fire token and place it in a space that does not contains fire adjacent to a place that contains fire. Then Conclude the spreading phase.
Take care even to extinguish fire rule, which IMHO is bad written.
My first game while mansion was on fire

Trouble with this is that there's no such thing as a "Fire Spread Phase" so you now need to add rules as to what it is and when it applies. "you can take a fire token" suggests that this is optional.

It's not so easy to write rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Braskey

Royse Ciyt
Texas
msg tools
Looks like I was not the only one confused by this.
There are several rules that could have been answered by FFG providing a tutorial that walks you through the different rule sets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ParisianDreams
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Valenso wrote:
I completely misread the rules on fire and I was making it spread WAAAAAAY faster than it should. This changes things completely!


Not alone. We were doing it wrong too. I was playing with someone that had played before so was just following his lead. Our fire got waaayyy out of control. lol
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Kaczor
Poland
Chorzów
INTL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to confirm ... even if we have fire in two different locations and those fire tokens are not connected we put only one new fire token on the map?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
We apologise for the inconvenience
United Kingdom
Outside of the Asylum
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AkitaInu wrote:
Just to confirm ... even if we have fire in two different locations and those fire tokens are not connected we put only one new fire token on the map?

Yep, that's what the rules say. It doesn't matter how many Fire tokens there are (nor how many separate groups they are split into), you only add 1 new Fire token in total.

Nothing stops you playing it differently if you so choose though
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.