Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Influence removal is not an action... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ferdinand Marques
msg tools
mb
I saw this in twilightstrategy.pdf:
"The influence removal is not an Action and can be done at any time. (It is unclear whether you can actually do this in the middle of your opponent’s Action..."

Can anyone clarify this?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Sachs
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Despite your hope, there is not even any inherent symbolism; gravity is simply a coincidence.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ferdinand M wrote:
I saw this in twilightstrategy.pdf:
"The influence removal is not an Action and can be done at any time. (It is unclear whether you can actually do this in the middle of your opponent’s Action..."

Can anyone clarify this?

Thanks


Presumably that's referring specifically to the Cuban Missile Crisis event. With the event in effect, a coup by the target player automatically loses them the game. The target player can, "at any time", remove 2 influence from Cuba (USSR) or WG/Turkey (US), to cancel that coup prohibition.

There is clear value to doing this on your turn (so you can coup). You could also do it as a threat, e.g. to deter your opponent from a coup that you can now counter-coup.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Harmony, liberal intercourse with all nations, are recommended by policy, humanity, and interest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jaysachs wrote:
Ferdinand M wrote:
I saw this in twilightstrategy.pdf:
"The influence removal is not an Action and can be done at any time. (It is unclear whether you can actually do this in the middle of your opponent’s Action..."

Can anyone clarify this?

Thanks


Presumably that's referring specifically to the Cuban Missile Crisis event. With the event in effect, a coup by the target player automatically loses them the game. The target player can, "at any time", remove 2 influence from Cuba (USSR) or WG/Turkey (US), to cancel that coup prohibition.

There is clear value to doing this on your turn (so you can coup). You could also do it as a threat, e.g. to deter your opponent from a coup that you can now counter-coup.


That threat exists even before you remove the influence; if your opponent is up to snuff, it's unnecessary to remove the influence to deter the coup.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Candiac
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
That threat exists even before you remove the influence; if your opponent is up to snuff, it's unnecessary to remove the influence to deter the coup.


But your opponent can realign/Socialist Governments you out before you have a chance to do it.

Which brings us to the OP's question. Can the USSR player decide to take influence away once US player elected to realign Cuba?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Sachs
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Despite your hope, there is not even any inherent symbolism; gravity is simply a coincidence.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
afafard wrote:
dirubin wrote:
That threat exists even before you remove the influence; if your opponent is up to snuff, it's unnecessary to remove the influence to deter the coup.


But your opponent can realign/Socialist Governments you out before you have a chance to do it.

Which brings us to the OP's question. Can the USSR player decide to take influence away once US player elected to realign Cuba?


Can you do it in between realignment rolls?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.