$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Factory Card Top Row Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ron Gamer
msg tools
Can the top row actions on the factory card be taken in any order? We had a situation where the first action would end the game. So can the player take the second action (gain Popularity) first, and then the first action to place the final star and end the game?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, benefits within a specific action may be gained in any order. Good question.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You only get one top row action. Are you talking about the order of benefits from the top row, such as the one where you pay a resource to get +1 power, +1 popularity and +1 coin?

If so, I believe you can get the benefits in any order.

Edit: Not fast enough ninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Watts
United States
Mount Juliet
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confused. The manual says this:

"Take either the top-row action, the bottom-row action, or
both (starting with the top action). First pay the full cost of the
action (all icons on exposed red boxes), then gain the benefit
(exposed green boxes)."

I interpret this to mean if you take both you must take the top action first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Zigmond
United Kingdom
Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jeffjwatts wrote:
I'm confused. The manual says this:

"Take either the top-row action, the bottom-row action, or
both (starting with the top action). First pay the full cost of the
action (all icons on exposed red boxes), then gain the benefit
(exposed green boxes)."

I interpret this to mean if you take both you must take the top action first.


That's quite right - but the question concerned a case where the top-row action has multiple benefits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Van Loo
Belgium
Temse
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It is only about the top action, because on every factory card the bottom action is a move action (2 steps).

The question was : if you pay for the top action, can I choose the order of the benefits I get from that same top row action, meaning you don't have to take the benefits from left to right !!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Gamer
msg tools
Ok thanks. Great game btw!

jameystegmaier wrote:
Yes, benefits within a specific action may be gained in any order. Good question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct. I don't think there's anything that's left to right in Scythe. Everything is top to bottom.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Miller
United Kingdom
Newport
Gwent
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jameystegmaier wrote:
That's correct. I don't think there's anything that's left to right in Scythe. Everything is top to bottom.


...Second tiebreak for most automa move actions is natural reading order (so left to right then top to bottom), and the order that the Automa considers it's movement options is left to right, also...

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarad Bond
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hehe, and if we're being pedantic, you deploy workers left to right. I'm pretty sure you don't get to choose. ninja
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, good points, Jarad and Stephen. That's why we put the arrow on the worker section of the player mat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.