$30.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Moscow '41» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rich Radgoski
United States
Gouldsboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. When adding strength to current units during the Logistics phase, can I do so with those in combat? Can I add more than 1 strength point?

2. How does the units of a group move if the leader is perma dead? (Pass = 1 block, no combat & if commanded by a HQ in their sector - is that all?)

3. 2 consecutive passes (to end the turn) is 1 by both players consecutively, yes? (it doesn't trigger if one player passes in concurrent rounds...)

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
Arkobla Conn wrote:
1. When adding strength to current units during the Logistics phase, can I do so with those in combat? Can I add more than 1 strength point?

2. How does the units of a group move if the leader is perma dead? (Pass = 1 block, no combat & if commanded by a HQ in their sector - is that all?)

3. 2 consecutive passes (to end the turn) is 1 by both players consecutively, yes? (it doesn't trigger if one player passes in concurrent rounds...)


1. dont know
2. correct. dont lose your HQ's to Isolation or combat
3. the first.
Each turn can only run until the HQ's get to heart level UNLESS a side wants to kill a HQ.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"]1. When adding strength to current units during the Logistics phase, can I do so with those in combat? Can I add more than 1 strength point?"

Per 7.2.2 The rules do not prohibit adding strength to units in combat and it says "rotate clockwise by 90% per step replaced.".
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Labarque
Belgium
Kortrijk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Concerning 2, you can also move units during a Strategic Impulse. You can move a number of units equal to the Logistics Value.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O. C.
Spain
flag msg tools
blablabla
badge
lololo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zerstorer88 wrote:
"]1. When adding strength to current units during the Logistics phase, can I do so with those in combat? Can I add more than 1 strength point?"

Per 7.2.2 The rules do not prohibit adding strength to units in combat and it says "rotate clockwise by 90% per step replaced.".

I didn't know that, thank you
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unit's Strength cannot be replaced if they are in a contested area(engaged).
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Radgoski
United States
Gouldsboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks Ultimo and everyone who replied.

Where in the rules is that bit about the contested area? This is one of those items that should be better explained in the rules. My example for you. If you read the section below,it does imply multiple steps (90 per step) but doesn't expressly say it. It should. And no where in this rule (or in the example), does it state that it must be done in an uncontested area. The uncontested area makes sense...but I try to play be the rules as written when I can, and we didn't find that classifier in this rule. Will there be an FAQ soon?

8.2.2 Replacing Strength
Replacing Strength works in the opposite way to
Reducing Strength, thus a Block is rotated clockwise by
90° per step replaced and it is performed during the
Logistics Phase only, by activating the Leader.
HQ Strength is Regenerated by spending
Regeneration Points, while Combat Block Strength is
replaced by spending Replacement Points.
One Regeneration Point is spent per every HQ step.
A number of Replacement Points from 1 to 3 is
spent per step, depending on the colour of the step:
: 1 Replacement Point;
: 2 Replacement Points;
: 3 Replacement Points.
The number of Regeneration Points is equal to the
number of Replacement Points and equal to the LV. The
Leader is reduced at the end of the Logistics Phase.
Example: at the beginning of the November Turn, the
Germans have the Initiative, thus the Soviets must take the
first decision in the Logistics Phase and they choose the
Logistics Pause. Stalin is automatically fully regenerated and
nothing else happen. Then the Germans choose to play the
Logistics Phase. They calculate their LV: Hitler's Strength (0,
as he is at Heart Level) plus the number of German HQs
deployed over the mapboard and not exhausted (4) plus
Victory Points (3) plus 2 extra Logistics Points for having
forced 21 Soviet Blocks to surrender (9) divided by 2 (as it is
Snowy and they do not control both Moscow and Leningrad)
= 4.
The Germans then have:
1. 4 Regeneration Points: they bring an HQ from 3 to 4
(1), and another HQ from Heart Level to 4 (3);
2. 4 Replacement Points: they replace a Red step (3)
and a Black step (1);
3. and finally they draw 4 Reinforcements.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O. C.
Spain
flag msg tools
blablabla
badge
lololo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ULTIMO wrote:
Unit's Strength cannot be replaced if they are in a contested area(engaged).

Thank you Emanuele
Then, I think this should be clarified in the rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kaxte wrote:
ULTIMO wrote:
Unit's Strength cannot be replaced if they are in a contested area(engaged).

Thank you Emanuele
Then, I think this should be clarified in the rulebook.


Yes indeed Oscar, thank you.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G Geisler

Santa Fe
New Mexico
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can we get a little more insight when you have a moment Emanuele? The logistics rules provide an opportunity to restore combat strength and it seems most likely for the player to want to restore those units that are reduced during a combat engagement. As the designer do you envision this restoration of combat strength as unrealistic because engaged units in the same area could interfere with enemy reinforcement (even if both sides are not in a state of continuous combat)?

Thank you for your time.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes indeed.

Receiving replacements, ammo, fuel, supply, spare parts, afv and guns was much easier away from the frontline.

Except for the few tons of supply/fuel paradropped by the LW (and very little during night from the VVS), all the vital elements to a prolonged state of war were moved on rail, and in the final path on horses, charriots and sometimes trucks.

The number of horses and trucks was very limited for both the sides, so only a limited amount of goods could be delivered on the frontline during a state of fighting, while usually combat units were first drawn back to the rear area - adjacent to a main railroad - to get refitted and take some rest.

Does it make sense?

emanuele
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VVS Soviet Pilots.
The Soviets had lots of women pilots and they bombed the Germans and the Germans called them, 'THE NIGHT WITCHES"!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Night_Witches
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.