Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Government Train order question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Goulette
United States
Santa Clara
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I have a couple related questions about government train operation.

1) Do I have to completely finish adding cubes BEFORE I replace two cubes with a govt. base? Or can I add a base and then add cubes at the province where I just added the base?

2) Now, assume I have chosen Op + special activity: Can I transport before and/or during the Train operation?

Example: Train troops in a city, transport three of them to a neighboring province, then trade two of the transported troops for 1 base.

If I CAN do what I suggested in 1 above (i.e. create a base before adding cubes) then you could do some pretty crazy combos here.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes. 3.2.1 states that after placing cubes then you either replace cubes with a Base or conduct Civic Action.

2) Yes. You can take your Special Activity either before, during, or after the Operation.

Now, you can place cubes in one space, Transport them to another, and then build the Base there. You'll have to pay for the Base space, though.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petr Míka
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But you usually don't want to place a base where you already can Train cubes.

Edit: I misred yout question and switched the sequence. No, as I read the Rulebook you have to place your cubes in all selected Train spaces and then you may replace cubes with a base.

Quote:
First, in each selected Province with a Government Base AND in each selected City, place up to 4 cubes (any combination of Available Troops and Police). Then, in up to 1 selected space, either...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so we got different answers.

Turbine2k5 wrote:
1) Yes. 3.2.1 states that after placing cubes then you either replace cubes with a Base or conduct Civic Action.


It sure seems to me you must have all your selecting done before moving on to paying for them. You're saying then a player would put two pawns in one space to indicate they'll be adding and then changing one to a base? That doesn't seem what the rules are saying the procedure is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
mbmbmbmbmb
DiploGuy wrote:
so we got different answers.

Turbine2k5 wrote:
1) Yes. 3.2.1 states that after placing cubes then you either replace cubes with a Base or conduct Civic Action.


It sure seems to me you must have all your selecting done before moving on to paying for them. You're saying then a player would put two pawns in one space to indicate they'll be adding and then changing one to a base? That doesn't seem what the rules are saying the procedure is.

I'm not sure what you're saying. Space selection has nothing to do with the procedure of Government Train.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DiploGuy wrote:
so we got different answers.

No, you have two effectively identical answers. Turbine and Pernik are both (correctly) saying that you cannot place any further cubes after you've placed a Base.

Quote:
Turbine2k5 wrote:
1) Yes. 3.2.1 states that after placing cubes then you either replace cubes with a Base or conduct Civic Action.


It sure seems to me you must have all your selecting done before moving on to paying for them.

Not at all. As long as you're just placing cubes, you're free to select as many new spaces as you want to and can pay for. Once you've moved to the "place a Base or conduct Civic Action" step of the Procedure however you're not allowed to select any further spaces, since that step is the final part of the Procedure and you are only allowed to execute it in a single space.

Regards,
Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Turbine2k5 wrote:
DiploGuy wrote:
so we got different answers.

Turbine2k5 wrote:
1) Yes. 3.2.1 states that after placing cubes then you either replace cubes with a Base or conduct Civic Action.


It sure seems to me you must have all your selecting done before moving on to paying for them. You're saying then a player would put two pawns in one space to indicate they'll be adding and then changing one to a base? That doesn't seem what the rules are saying the procedure is.

I'm not sure what you're saying. Space selection has nothing to do with the procedure of Government Train.


How's that so? "Procedure: at each selected... Then, in up to 1 selected..."

Seems like it has everything to do with the procedure.


Oerjan wrote:
Not at all. As long as you're just placing cubes, you're free to select as many new spaces as you want to and can pay for. Once you've moved to the "place a Base or conduct Civic Action" step of the Procedure however you're not allowed to select any further spaces, since that step is the final part of the Procedure and you are only allowed to execute it in a single space.

Regards,
Oerjan


Okay and that single space could have been one you just selected to place cubes? Do you have to pay for the base placed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DiploGuy wrote:
Oerjan wrote:
Not at all. As long as you're just placing cubes, you're free to select as many new spaces as you want to and can pay for. Once you've moved to the "place a Base or conduct Civic Action" step of the Procedure however you're not allowed to select any further spaces, since that step is the final part of the Procedure and you are only allowed to execute it in a single space.

Regards,
Oerjan


Okay and that single space could have been one you just selected to place cubes?

Of course. Once you have selected (and paid for) a space for a particular Operation, it stays selected until the end of that Operation.

Quote:
Do you have to pay for the base placed?

Not if you have already selected (and paid for) the space earlier in the Operation, no.

Regards,
Oerjan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.