Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
50 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Game of Thrones: The Iron Throne» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Session Report from Gen Con - from a Cosmic Encounter fan's perspective rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Allen
United States
Madison
Alabama
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I tried it, but I wasn't blown away by it.

If someone has never played Cosmic Encounter before, and are a fan of the GoT IP, then they will probably like it.

I have been playing Cosmic for 20 or 30 years and this is just not nearly as fun.

It was hard to see who was attacking who and who was supporting who. You have a disc that has a small sword icon on the top and a shield icon on the bottom and you turn the orientation one way or another to indicate if you are attacking or allying with the attacker, etc.
However, the symbols don't stand out and you don't move your guys onto a big, obvious cone like in Cosmic, so if you look away for a few seconds, you will have to ask the other players who is attacking who.

If I do end up owning this game I think I will house rule it that the attacker and the defender push their disks together in the middle of the table to make it more obvious what is going on ... and so forth with the allies.

I didn't like the crowns, personally. Having them all be identical after being used to Cosmic's different colored ships really annoyed me.

You only have a small set of powers to use based on the cards in your hand, and some of them were not real exciting, like J. Mormont's ability to force folks on the other side to release hostages or whatever. I didn't see much benefit to keeping hostages. It felt like a very tacked on mechanic. I just turned around and handed them back and let myself draw another card every time I got one. Having more cards is fun - having a hostage card sitting there doing nothing that you might be forced to give up at some point anyway .... just didn't seem amazing.