$35.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: a few questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the non-informative title. It's late and I'm tired.

We tried playing our first game of Vast tonight. It took us a long time to get set up and only got 3 turns each in an hour. I'm sure we'll get faster at this.

It took me forever to figure out which were the omen tiles.

It took all of us a while to figure out how the Dragon's reroll power (screech?) worked. We think you spend two icons to purchase the screech token which you can then spend later to reroll something.

It seems when doing an ambush you don't actually put the goblin tribe token on the map? Because after the ambush the goblin tribe automatically scatters?

Can a goblin tribe of strength 2 ambush a knight of strength 3?

Can the cave rotate a tile such that the entrance can't be reached by some players?

When a Knight attacks a goblin tribe or the dragon eats some goblins, the goblins gain rage?

Thanks. We were all confused and took a long time to do anything, but everyone was so intrigued by the premise and enchanted by the art that everyone agreed they would happily sit down to try playing again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
kc2dpt wrote:
It took all of us a while to figure out how the Dragon's reroll power (screech?) worked. We think you spend two icons to purchase the screech token which you can then spend later to reroll something.
This is correct. The text says to place the token over the ability cost to mark that it's available, and so you don't accidentally try to pay for it more than once without using it.

It's a great way to use Power cards that might otherwise go to waste at the end of the Dragon's turn, and the reroll often comes in handy when using Flame, Claw, and even Wrath.

Quote:
It seems when doing an ambush you don't actually put the goblin tribe token on the map? Because after the ambush the goblin tribe automatically scatters?
Correct, they do not go on the map.

You could move their marker there momentarily just to clearly show the other players which tribe is actually doing the ambush, but then it goes right back on your player board and the tribe scatters.

Quote:
Can a goblin tribe of strength 2 ambush a knight of strength 3?
No, a tribe must be stronger than the Knight to ambush her.

As long as she remains aware of how strong the tribe(s) not on the map are, she can keep her strength up to prevent ambushes. Of course, cubes spent to keep strength up are cubes not being spent to move and explore, so there's a trade-off...

Quote:
Can the cave rotate a tile such that the entrance can't be reached by some players?
Yes. That's one of several methods the Cave can use to slow the others down. Placing Rockslide tokens in key locations can have the same effect.

Rotating a tile can also open up new edges, which allows the Cave to place additional tiles.

Quote:
When a Knight attacks a goblin tribe or the dragon eats some goblins, the goblins gain rage?
Correct. Essentially, any time the Goblins get attacked, their Rage goes up. When they attack someone else, their Rage goes down.

Quote:
Thanks. We were all confused and took a long time to do anything, but everyone was so intrigued by the premise and enchanted by the art that everyone agreed they would happily sit down to try playing again.
Glad to hear you'll keep trying! There are a lot of different moving parts so the first play or two can be a little tricky, but it shouldn't take too long to get things sorted out.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick replies.
Another question...

New dark cave tiles are only added a] next to non-wall edges of a tile that was just flipped from dark to light and b] once per turn by the cave player anywhere on the map. Right?

Can a goblin tribe move off a dark tile and cause a new dark tile to be added? Can a dragon do that?


----
-D--
DLD-
DLD-


D = dark
L = light
- = no tile
Could a goblin or dragon move from the topmost dark tile up and have the cave add another dark tile? Or is the only way for non-cave players to expand the cave to explore a dark tile, turning it to light and thus trigger the addition of more dark tiles around it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
kc2dpt wrote:
New dark cave tiles are only added a] next to non-wall edges of a tile that was just flipped from dark to light and b] once per turn by the cave player anywhere on the map. Right?
Correct. Open edges of Lit tiles should always be filled in when they're revealed (unless the collapse has begun, then they remain open). The Cave always places at least one new dark tile each turn.

If there's no Cave player in the game, each player places one dark tile at the end of their own turn, anywhere on the map. This is always in addition to any other tiles they might have placed during their turn using actions and/or movement.

Quote:
Can a goblin tribe move off a dark tile and cause a new dark tile to be added? Can a dragon do that?
Each Goblin tribe can add one new dark tile each turn using an Explore action. The tribe has to be able to move to tile you place, and then ends its move there.

The Dragon can only add tiles by using Flame/Scorch/Burn and then filling in any open edges that appear.


Quote:


-x--
xDx-
DLD-
DLD-


D = dark
L = light
- = no tile
Could a goblin or dragon move from the topmost dark tile up and have the cave add another dark tile?
The Goblins could Explore into any of the three spaces I marked with an "x".

The Dragon would have to hit one or more of those dark tiles near the top with Flame/Scorch/Burn to reveal it first, then (if possible) orient the tiles to open edges toward the top.

Quote:
Or is the only way for non-cave players to expand the cave to explore a dark tile, turning it to light and thus trigger the addition of more dark tiles around it?
In addition to the methods above, in some of the variants players can use the Flare card to reveal tiles like the Dragon's flame.

The Vantage Point event card also reveals tiles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, thanks. I missed the goblin explore action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Honig
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Woelf wrote:
Rotating a tile can also open up new edges, which allows the Cave to place additional tiles.


If this happens, the Cave places the tile immediately? This seems kind of critical to playing the Cave, since it lets you build dramatically faster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
mbmbmbmbmb
Andarel wrote:
Woelf wrote:
Rotating a tile can also open up new edges, which allows the Cave to place additional tiles.


If this happens, the Cave places the tile immediately? This seems kind of critical to playing the Cave, since it lets you build dramatically faster.
Yes, open edges are always filled immediately.

It does allow the Cave to grow faster than it would by simply placing tiles normally.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.