$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a friend's copy of this for the first time a couple of days ago, and a strange situation came up that seemed like it would be really common but potentially game-breaking, so was wondering if there was a rule that prevented it.

We were three managers, so three match-ups were on the table. We each, as our first move, played a player each to a different match-up. Managers 1 and 2 then went on to play players opposing each other, leaving manager 3 on his own on the third match-up and unable to participate in the game in any way (he can't oppose himself, and he can't play cards to the match-ups that are already occupied).

We just rewound the game and allowed manager 3 to change his first move to be opposing one of the other managers, and all kept this in mind for the future, but is there anything that specifically prevents this from happening or do the players just have to be mindful of it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Players need to be mindful of that, mostly. There's no specific rule to counteract that, there are two other concerns to take into account though.

Firstly, that player gets all the payouts if nobody jumps in at a later time, most likely at the last moment.

Also, when there's a tournament available, which is 3 out of 5 rounds, he can just really focus on winning the tournament, which is a huge deal.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You also don't have to play all your cards. If two managers are already fighting each other at Highlights A & B, guy sitting on C will likely win it with far less commitment, able to save up his better players for the following week (unless final week, but then you have the Blood Bowl tournament as a fourth option). Few things are as satisfying as pulling in all the booty with a single Lineman (whether because nobody else committed or opponent got ejected ).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
get your double payout, and either save your best players or win the tourney if one is available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
therealtheshader wrote:
get your double payout, and either save your best players or win the tourney if one is available.


Double payout?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
bleached_lizard wrote:
Double payout?

Very unlikely to happen.
In theory in none of the other players ever play even a single player to the highlight, you get both participation payouts.
In practice, one will put a cheap dude in just to scrounge that one up.

In general, it's just a bad play for the third player to take the third open highlight instead of opposing one of the first two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Broggi
United States
Southwick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not that unlikely. A player may send a single team member to a highlight that then gets discarded due to injury or being ejected. I've seen it happen. The player that remains then gets both bonuses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jett Rink
United Kingdom
flag msg tools

Knowing you can restrict the last manager to play is very useful. My play group will deliberately do this if the last manager to play has a big lead.
It's part of the group being able to drag down the leader.
And as others have mentioned it's not the end of the world for the player "locked out", they can carry over their stronger players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
Isn't it a bit un-fun for that player, though? They basically do nothing for that round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris D
Italy
Muggiò
MB
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe, but it's not like he didn't have a choice in it...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
broggi wrote:
It's not that unlikely. A player may send a single team member to a highlight that then gets discarded due to injury or being ejected. I've seen it happen. The player that remains then gets both bonuses.


Agreed. A double payout seems to happen in nearly every game we play. Usually from injuries. Ejections are funnier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
Overtext pending moderation...
mbmbmbmbmb
No_Frets wrote:
Maybe, but it's not like he didn't have a choice in it...


True!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michail Giannis
Greece
Petroupoli/Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also the third manager should knew that this might be a possibility (to throw him out of the matches).

Let's say we have 3 matches A, B and C and no Tournament

Manager 1 commits a player in A
Manager 2 commits a player in B
Manager 3 stops and thinks what might happen if he commits a player in C. The possibility of getting kicked out of A and B.
Now he either accept this and goes for a full victory at C (in case nobody else shows up)

OR

Manager 3 commits a players in B.
Next is manager 1 who can not put his player in A (he cannot he is already there and he want to be in as much matched as possible), the B is full and so he chooses to put it at C.
Manager 2 commits his next player in either A or C
and that leaves you with what's left from manager 2 A or C.


In sort it was a mistake from manager 3 to put a player in match C.
IF your goal was to take part in as much matches as possible.
Maybe the wins from match C justified this but i don't know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.