$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: (SPOILERS) Spidicules "Taken" and Hooded Knight event rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Amanda Traylor
msg tools
Ok so my husband and I were playing last night and we had a new situation come up we weren't sure how to handle. If after fighting the Spidicules we choose our survivor with the Twilight Sword to be "taken" and then Hooded Knight is on the timeline before the survivor comes back (or dies), what happens when Hooded Knight triggers?
The survivor shouldn't be able to fight the Hooded Knight since they aren't at the settlement, and yet a survivor has the Twilight Sword already.

1. The Hooded Knight for some reason still challenges the taken survivor wherever he is
2. The Twilight Sword goes to a new survivor (and it's unique so the last guy loses it)
3. Hooded Knight just doesn't happen?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Schoberg
United States
Elkhorn
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
when i get home, i'm so tired
badge
just roll over, please. i'm so tired. just roll over, please. i'm so tired.
mbmbmbmbmb
I think thematically the Hooded Knight would show up at your settlement, not see anyone with the Twilight Sword (assumed dead), and roll for the mysterious agenda (possibly delivering a new twilight sword).

Assuming you did have someone get a second Twilight Sword, and your original survivor with it came back alive, I'd probably rule that the new one gets it.

It is all pretty unclear and open to interpretation, though. So this is just my take.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Traylor
msg tools
That's pretty much exactly what we were thinking, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Traylor
msg tools
I missed that part about them not being Unique, I guess I just assumed they were long ago and never re-evaluated it and I didn't have the card with me when I posted this. Thanks for pointing that out! I think we will just play Hooded Knight as normal then and possibly end up with 2 Twilight Swords.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Onyx
msg tools
The question is, does the Taken event (I don't have the spidicules expansion ) remove him from the settlement sheet? As long as he's still listed as part of the settlement, the Hooded Knight would interact with him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Traylor
msg tools
So funny thing is this ended up not mattering because we drew Clinging Mists before Hooded Knight was supposed to trigger and rolled a 10 and figured hey, what the heck .

We only got to bring 3 survivors back to start the new campaign but we had been at LY 10 with a full set of Gorm armor, 2 rawhide sets, Spidicules' silk bodysuit, Gloom Mehndi, Gorm's Widsom Potion, Grand Weapon and Axe mastery and Fist + Tooth almost mastered. Axe Master already triggered See the Truth and got Sweet Battle and the Fist and Tooth specialist had Acid Palms, 4 natural strength and 2 natural accuracy.

In the first year of the new campaign our Grand Weapon Master got Bitter Frenzy and Berserker from See the Truth and he already had the Revenge disorder (frenzied when another survivor dies in showdown). Also he naturally has 3 strength and 1 accuracy (also -1 evasion, boo).

Fist and Tooth lady is one away from Master and just triggered White Secret and got Ageless, so hoping to have her go for another mastery, haven't picked which yet. She also has Legendary Lungs and Extra Sense and is Quixotic.

Pretty cool way to start a new campaign . Of course I know any moment now Kingdom Death will brutally kill all my hopes and dreams, but I'll enjoy it while I can.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Death Jester
msg tools
mbmb
Very nice! Just be warned, we had a similar return with two survivors returning from Clinging Mist - both maxed out courage and understanding, one a grand master with leather set and accessories, the other a shield master with gorm set and accessories. The game is sentient though and knows what you are trying to do. The new campaign lasted 11 years of awful luck before the settlement was utterly destroyed and KDM laughed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Wirtz
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Matt, yeah, it does remove them from the settlement (IIRC, the language is a little confusing, but unless you're going to rule it inconsistently, it really only makes sense that they're effectively gone until you get them back).

DJ, heh, I know what you mean- we had a fantastic set of survivors hit Clinging Mist, and then around years 2-5 everything that could go wrong did, and we had one of the worst runs we've ever had in the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Traylor
msg tools
Yea I am fully expecting that to happen, I understand the nature of Kingdom Death
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Olds
United States
OREM
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the survivor is removed from the settlement cry

The big question I've always had is whether the other survivors carry their gear back, or not. I think we played that they did the first few times, then started thinking that they wouldn't be able to.

Cambria329 wrote:
I missed that part about them not being Unique, I guess I just assumed they were long ago and never re-evaluated it and I didn't have the card with me when I posted this. Thanks for pointing that out! I think we will just play Hooded Knight as normal then and possibly end up with 2 Twilight Swords.


Is "Unique" a gameplay term?

Generally, the I think the rule is that if you do not have a second card, then you do not gain whatever you were supposed to gain (like with resource cards).

Under that ruling, Mysterious Agenda would occur (since the sword isn't in the settlement) but if he hands out a second sword, it is lost.

Now, I've heard that Adam says it is perfectly ok to combine two sets of cards, and have twice the resources and gear available. Since that's ok, then it is perfectly fine to have two twilight swords in your settlement. Find a proxy and get going.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Trewartha
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If you did happen to end up with two twilight swords, what would you do when the hooded knight returned next time? Have him challenge both of them? Pick one to fight?

@Drew, yes unique is a rule for some gear. Interesting question about whether taken allows you to keep the gear or not. Obviously not with cursed gear, but I don't know about the rest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.