Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Heir to the Pharaoh» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ptah Rule Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad103
United States
Skaneateles
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Below is the rules for Ptah if he is the Pharaoh's Favorite:
Quote:
Pharaoh’s Favorite: Instead of claiming the active Monument Card, you may exchange it for one of the two face up Monument Cards next to the draw deck and claim that one instead. You are not required to do so. Note: If you exchange Monument Cards, then the Standee on the Monument Token will change also! This may affect end-game scoring results.


With regards to the bold section, does this mean that the Monument that was just placed on this current round (During 1:Seshat & 2:Gem/Nut) is replaced by whatever is on the new taken card?

For Example:
Obelisk Card is up, with token and monumeeple on it.
1-Seshat: Token/Obelisk is Placed
2-Geb/Nut: Token is flipped/rotated
3-Ptah(Favorite): Obelisk Card is replaced with Shrine Card and taken
-- Previously placed Obelisk monumeeple is replaced by a Shrine monumeeple

Is this correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alf Seegert
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Braffe wrote:
Below is the rules for Ptah if he is the Pharaoh's Favorite:
Quote:
Pharaoh’s Favorite: Instead of claiming the active Monument Card, you may exchange it for one of the two face up Monument Cards next to the draw deck and claim that one instead. You are not required to do so. Note: If you exchange Monument Cards, then the Standee on the Monument Token will change also! This may affect end-game scoring results.


With regards to the bold section, does this mean that the Monument that was just placed on this current round (During 1:Seshat & 2:Gem/Nut) is replaced by whatever is on the new taken card?

For Example:
Obelisk Card is up, with token and monumeeple on it.
1-Seshat: Token/Obelisk is Placed
2-Geb/Nut: Token is flipped/rotated
3-Ptah(Favorite): Obelisk Card is replaced with Shrine Card and taken
-- Previously placed Obelisk monumeeple is replaced by a Shrine monumeeple

Is this correct?


Yes -- exactly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad103
United States
Skaneateles
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply!

Ptah became Pharaoh's Favorite twice in my last game. Sadly we didn't notice this rule when we swapped and took a card. Depending on monument placement it could be a big hit in points at the end. Although, we usually swap the monument cards for selfish purposes of getting another card for our set. Still, when it's the first (or maybe the second) card to a set, changing the monument may result in a better score difference in the end.

I was thinking, it might make more sense that Ptah resolves first, so that when he's the Pharaoh's Favorite the monument would be swapped before it's placed. But, after thinking over it more, it's more strategic to see where the monument is placed before deciding if its worth swapping it, or grabbing a card that helps you out more.

It's great that even a small move like this can have several good options!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alf Seegert
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes: Ptah's placement in the lineup would have worked both ways. Ultimately I went with your latter thought by having Ptah go after Seshat and Geb & Nut. It can be really powerful to swap out a Monument after it's already been placed, either to help yourself or to undermine your opponent (or better yet, by building a better set of cards, both!). Thanks, Brad!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.