Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Encounters: Shadowrun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Special Shadowrunner rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacob Black
United States
Colonie
New York
flag msg tools
I'm not entirely sure how the encounters that reward a special shadowrunner work from the rules. This is how I'm reading it.

You defeat an encounter that rewards a special shadowrunner of "+X". You set it aside in your play area, I guess wherever you're playing shadowrunners. At some point you can use this encounter as if it was a shadowrunner and it grants +X to a die roll.

Do you leave the die used to defeat the encounter locked on it or is this where the black dice included come in? If you use the locked die does it stay there till you use it even if it spills into the next player's turn?

It adds "+X" to any die roll when you use it and cannot be retained. Does it add "+X" to an existing roll or the die stored on it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noneya Bidness
United States
Middletown
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
DorkPassenger wrote:
I'm not entirely sure how the encounters that reward a special shadowrunner work from the rules. This is how I'm reading it.

You defeat an encounter that rewards a special shadowrunner of "+X". You set it aside in your play area, I guess wherever you're playing shadowrunners. At some point you can use this encounter as if it was a shadowrunner and it grants +X to a die roll.

Do you leave the die used to defeat the encounter locked on it or is this where the black dice included come in? If you use the locked die does it stay there till you use it even if it spills into the next player's turn?

It adds "+X" to any die roll when you use it and cannot be retained. Does it add "+X" to an existing roll or the die stored on it?


The die stays there until you resolve that column. Either by failing, scoring or Escalating it to a new column. Regardless of the outcome the card stays with the player and does not count against their shadowrunner limit of five.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff H
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I place a face down encounter from the discard pile as a placeholder for the space taken for a special Shadowrunner.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Black
United States
Colonie
New York
flag msg tools
Alright I reread the rules with your responses taken into account and I see where I was misinterpreting them. It's telling you to leave the die you locked to defeat the encounter in the spot in the column where the encounter was prior to moving the special shadowrunner encounter to your shadowrunner play area. Thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played this way:

The die stays locked, and we put a number of nuyen into the 'space' voided by the card equal to the column number, to be collected in the event of a cash-out.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephanie Palmatier
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To add to the OP's questions about the special shadowrunner encounter rules, I wanted to clear up how and when the card gets cashed out.

It pretty much just functions as normal except for the player keeping the card for a one-time +X bonus right? If the player succeeds the run they get whatever amount the card is worth at the end? If datasteal occurs, that player gets the money for it, but not the +X bonus as the card stays with the original player? If the run is burned, noone gets the nuyen for it, but the original player still keeps card?

I think we did this wrong when we first played, as we cashed that one card out right away to the person who defeated it and left the die on it until it was unlocked. I don't remember if the player failed the run or not, but we didn't have time for a full game anyway and ended up playing 2 rounds.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.