$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two very simple questions. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, we are almost certainly doing things right in the following questions but I wonder if I might ask the forum here to make absolutely sure:

1) Monster movement. Often a fight dialogue will say something like "Monster moves 2 spaces toward the nearest investigator. Then attacks Investigator in its space with lowest X"

If there is no investigator there you click "No investigator within 2 spaces". To which it replies "The Monster moves two spaces toward the nearest investigator"

This seems pretty straight forward, we have been moving the Monster, then moving it again twice as per the instruction (4 spaces in its turn, toward the Investigators). However, is this right?

One of our number feels that its a "can the Monster move and attack? No? Then just move." Rather than a "Move than attack, if you can't attack move again". Which is correct?


2) Push. If an Investigator pushes another Investigator who is *unwilling* it says the following: "if pushing another investigator, that investigator tests strength; the test difficulty is equal to the test result +1"

What exactly does this mean? We have been playing that the test difficulty is the unwilling Investigators Strength +1, against the active Investigators Strength roll.

Just checking to make sure we are doing this correctly.

Thanks everyone!

 
 Thumb up
8.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It took me like 20 minutes to figure out push the other day.

But the investigator being pushed, tests his strength and adds 1 to the result.

The result generated is what the pusher tests his strength against.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OH!

Thank you. We were doing it wrong. So the Passive Investigator actually rolls their Strength and adds 1, then the Active Investigator tests his or her Strength roll against that number.

We were treating the passive Investigator's Strength as their maximum, making some investigators almost unpushable after you added the 1. Thanks again.

May I ask how you have you been moving the Monsters as per 1) above ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just have been doing what the app instructs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The monster in your example moves 4 spaces. Monsters also have 2 actions. They can move and attack if there is a valid target in range. Or they can move twice if they can't attack.
Note that some monsters have move instructions which are clearly different from one another, so I am quite positive that the correct interpretation is that the monster can move 4 spaces in your case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is just great, thank you both for your answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mikael mordai
Denmark
flag msg tools
mb
You mean his strength+1 die right?..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Nopa
United States
Addison
Texas [TX]
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mordai wrote:
You mean his strength+1 die right?..


In this case, no, because it says test result, then add 1.

In most other cases, the tests themselves say strength + 1, lore + 1, etc. This one says result (which mean the dice were already rolled), then add 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Bocketti
United States
Clifton Park
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 14 RRG

"....If pushing another investigator, that investigator tests strength; the test difficulty is equal to the result plus one."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct regarding the 2nd question. You add 1 to the result presumably so that the result cannot be 0. Because this would mean that the active investigator wouldn't have to roll to pass the test.

So the investigator that is to be pushed first performs a strength test. Then add 1 to the result. The instigator doing the pushing then also tests strength. He has to reach the result of the previous investigator (which is always at least 1) to pass the test. If he fails, he can't push.

Hope that makes it clear.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.