$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

No Man's Land: Trench Warfare 1914-1918» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solitaire rules on BGG rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed. Mostowicz
msg tools
They're a start but need work;

1 - Do the defending units set up hidden? Important for attacker's fire.

2 - If defending units start hidden, when and how do they reveal themselves to fire at attackers?

3 - Defender can't move?? Really? That's too easy for the attacker to gain the trench line at a flank.

4 - Defender fires at the closest attacker unit/stack. How do you resolve ties?

TIA.
Ed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arnauld DELLA SIEGA
France
FRANCE
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Good questions that will help to develop the temporary solitaire rules.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florent Leguern
France
Saint-Martin-d'Hères
flag msg tools
Groaning Grognard
badge
After all, a murder is only an extroverted suicide.
mbmbmbmbmb
Some unexpected events prevented me to actually try those solo rules, but I'll try tomorow ! But here are some thoughts I got when reading theses points :

1° I think that hidden units can be materialised by the "?" counters ; all units involved in the defense can be put in a cup, and drawn when revealed. Additionnaly, on a 5 or 6 with a die, add an officer to that unit (or when revealing an MG, automatically add an officer).

2° That could be resolved using the scattering rule : when an attacking unit advances, select the defending unit facing it and roll a die : on 1 or 2, the closest unit to the left of the attacker gets attacked ; 3 or 4, the attacking unit gets attacked ; 5 or 6, same with the closest unit on the right. Thus, the defending unit is revealed and can now conduct a regular attack on the target.

3° It could be possible to implement a "reaction" move when a attacker gets too close of the trench (or/and approaching an empty trench line), for example, at two hex of the trenchline. At the end of the attacker's movement, a defender moves 1 space towards the closest ennemy unit, while remaining in the trench or behind it. If an officer is close by, make it a double move.

4° I'll try to answer when I get a closer look at the gameplay for real ^^
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.