Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

New York 1901» Forums » Rules

Subject: Demolishing and Construction Boom rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Jonas

Oakdale
Minnesota
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If Construction Boom is used for the build action of Demolishing can the Demolishing act then be done on two separate areas of the board?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
elac yenwod
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
The rules book, under the section for that card, specifically states you can't do two demolitions:

"This card does not allow the player to perform two demolitions on same turn."

If you look at the demolition section you can see the definition of demolition:

"a) Demolish:
The active player chooses a skyscraper he wishes to add to the
game board. He then makes room for the new skyscraper by
demolishing (and removing) his previously built skyscrapers
located in the lots of land intended for the new skyscraper.
Demolished skyscrapers are placed back in the game box
(and can no longer be used for the rest of the game)."

So you can use the construction boom to build two buildings on the same lot you demolished a larger building on or on two parts of the board if the second isn't already occupied, but you can't remove buildings on opposite sides of the board.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jonas

Oakdale
Minnesota
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under the old rules, yes. But under the new rules it seems it is possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chenier La Salle
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the question Kevin. Elac is right, the construction boom only allows the "building" of as second skycraper on any land that you own. It does not allow a second demolition.

To avoid any confusion, I've asked BO to include a sentence similar to the one in the original rulebook. The printed version of V2 of the rules will include it.

Thank you for playing!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jonas

Oakdale
Minnesota
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.