Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Moscow '41» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rain/Snow Effects on HQs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Kwasny
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
When an HQ's Tactical/Air Range is reduced to 1 (by Rain or when halved by Snow), does that mean the HQ is treated as if it were exhausted? Or is this strength of 1 a special situation where it retains a 1-area range (its own area and adjacent areas) for activation, artillery, and air?

Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rory Colling
United States
VICTOR
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I will say YES.
That is how I''m playing it.

The weather affects (reduces effectiveness) of the firepower and range as opposed to when an HQ is reduced by casualties or at the end of an Impulse where it had used its Commanders experience and his other troops on hand to allocate them to other resources. Thus Tactical HQ's are reduced one step in the Deactivation segment ( 10.17) (Artillery, increasing certain blocks military assets, etc.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not eactly Mark,

having a Range of 1 means commanding Blocks in adjacent Areas (plus the Area it occupies offcourse), while being exhausted means a Range of "0", thus commanding only Blocks in the Area it occupies.

emanuele
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Radgoski
United States
Gouldsboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ULTIMO wrote:
Not eactly Mark,

having a Range of 1 means commanding Blocks in adjacent Areas (plus the Area it occupies offcourse), while being exhausted means a Range of "0", thus commanding only Blocks in the Area it occupies.

emanuele


To follow up

Their effective range is 1...is their fighting ability 1? Do they sit on the 1 star...or on whatever star they are on...but used as effective of 1?

I would tend to think..

They would be on their full strength (to show their combat effectiveness) but players would only use them as effective strength one. Each turn, their strength would reduce (that they are activated) but still only used as effective 1 until they get to heart level. Is this correct?

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O. C.
Spain
flag msg tools
blablabla
badge
lololo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does snow modify German HQs strenght when defending in a ground combat?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

That's Blizzard.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O. C.
Spain
flag msg tools
blablabla
badge
lololo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, Emanuele.

Rule 8.0 in Snow, says:
Attacking German Blocks' Strength, HQs Tactical/Air Range and Strength are halved.

I think the second "Strength" is confusing, maybe could it be eliminated?:
Attacking German Blocks Strength and HQs Tactical/Air Range are halved.
And same treatment for Rain:
Attacking Blocks Strength and HQ Tactical/Air Range are reduced to 1;
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
O. C.
Spain
flag msg tools
blablabla
badge
lololo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question: does snow modify Soviet HQs range?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure. Snow has no effects on the Soviets.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.